We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel to stay while Avalon...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atwater to your Saves list
Hotel Atwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Escape Package
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect hotel to stay while Avalon...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

this quaint little hotel did the trick on my last visit to Catalina Island. Perfect location, perfect homey feel. The staff is pleasant staying here really complimented my trip to Catalina. I would recommend it. oh and it's connected to a Chinese restaurant... which is always nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We loved having you as our guest. My team will be very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable. Please come back and see us again when you return to the island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    141
    59
    21
    14
See reviews for
87
144
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Did one night at the Atwater. Small room as we expected with a old hotel. Sleeping area was clean and staff very friendly. Would have been nice to have at least one chair though. Bathroom had no trash can and black mold around the top of the shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was a pretty nice place to stay, close to everything. The beds were good, the bathroom was adequate. We were on the west side of the building and there was a lot of road work and other construction going on during the day, so if you need to rest during the day, make sure you are not on that side. Also, there is no elevator, so don't bring a heavy suitcase. No rooms are on the ground floor, at all. This is not the place for handicapped people. Overall, we did enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west have construction noise during the day. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I read many reviews in quickly planning a same day getaway to Catalina. The price of the Atwater was around $125 with an outside facing room, whatever that means. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. The air conditioner worked nicely. I think we were in 303. It was quiet and comfortable.

Now for the summary - I would stay here again. The bathroom needed touch up paint and a toilet paper holder. The shower was RV sized. The staff was efficient and helpful. We had to carry our bags up 3 flights... no elevator. It is 1/2 block from the middle of everything. They have only 1 available plug to charge a cell phone. The two in the bathroom above the small sink vanity were what I used during the night, but at the risk of getting my electronics wet.

Price, cleanliness, a great bed and close to everything trumped any inconvenience with small shower / plug / touch up paint. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I read other reviews that suggested lower level rooms heard footsteps from above. I was happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I love it!.:) Only thing that was wrong was the restroom too small overall me & my girls have a pleasant stay at Hotel Atwater! It was close to everything & clean.Thanks to all the workers there for there awesome job!.:)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Atwater on your recent trip to Catalina Island. My team and I were very happy to help make your stay memorable. We hope to see you next time you visit the island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My Husband and I were blown away with how amazing their guest service is. They make you feel like family. Its right next to the beach and all the amazing restaurants. If you have questions just ask. I will be back when I visit Catalina island.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team and I appreciate you taking time to write about your recent stay at the Hotel Atwater. We were very happy to have you as our guest- thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location in Avalon.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We planned out family getaway last minute and were lucky to get a room at all that could accommodate 2 beds. The location is great, half a block from the beach, with the drug store on one corner and Lloyds candy store on the other corner and a good pizza place right across the street. There is also a bar right across the street and on our first night, we got to enjoy spring break revelers in all their glory until about 2:15 in the morning. The next morning, we explained our sad plight to the front desk man, and he got us moved to a nicer room on the other side of the hotel. So much better and we had a gorgeous view of the hills! The rest of our hotel stay was uneventful. Here's what you need to know. The Atwater dates back to the 20's, she's an old girl, and they're updating a bit at a time. There are no elevators, but it's only 3 stories, so it's not bad. Our first room was pretty dingy with loose windows and a dingy, rusted bathroom, but our second room had been updated with a better bathroom and furnishings and newer windows. Still modest, but perfectly serviceable. Beds in both rooms were excellent. There is a cozy lobby and vending and ice machines on each floor. The desk staff was very helpful and polite, the housekeeping staff seemed pleasant. It's a basic hotel, but for our 3 night stay, it was great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't look onto Sumner Ave. -- that's where the bar is. Be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#10 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atwater 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.