We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atwater

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Atwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No frills, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This old hotel has lots of charm, but lacks the luxury you may find elsewhere. The room had just the essentials: very comfortable bed (squishy pillows, though), an old but functioning television (who's watching TV for more than a few minutes on vacation, though?), a stall shower (with good water pressure) in a small bathroom, and a small closet with an iron and ironing board.

There is no hair dryer; reading reviews saved me from leaving mine at home, thankfully. I'm not sure if there was an elevator hiding somewhere (I sort of doubt it) and all of the rooms are on the second and third floors, so if you have an issue with a couple staircases, this is not the place for you.

Overall, my experience here was pretty great. We hopped off the ferry at 10:15 and walked a quick 5 or so minutes over to the hotel, just a block up from the water. We were planning on just dropping off our bags (they will store your luggage in a secure room before you check in and/or after you check out), but our room was actually READY even though check-in wasn't technically til 3pm. We were really only in our room to sleep and shower, and for that, it met our needs quite well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Atwater on your recent visit to Catalina Island. My team and I express our sincerest appreciation for taking the time to share your hotel experience with others on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your review and comments about our hotel and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Atwater.


Sincerely,


Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    103
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
61
96
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is an old hotel that has been updated and has very comfortable new beds. We stayed there isn February, 2013 and were very pleased as it was quiet, a block from the beach and qomfortable.

Not very many ammenities but they have coffee in the morning and a place to store your diving or other gear.The pricewas well below other properties in Avalon ($100/ night on the weekend.

Room Tip: Get the double queen room. There a larger and so is the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of your recent stay at the Atwater Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular, you were delighted with the service provided by my team. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Catalina Island.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for 1 night in the middle of President's weekend. Almost all the other hotels required a minimum of 2 nights for a long weekend & the Atwater was the only one that did not. They also did not jack their prices up for the long weekend. As the previous reviews have stated, this is a basic hotel, with NO elevators. It is 3 floors & you can carry your bags up to your room or have a bellman carry it. We stayed in one of the queen upgrade rooms. The rooms are very basic with a bed(s), 2 endtables, 2 lamps, a shelf for the tv; the bathrooms have towels & shampoo. The upgrade rooms include a hair blow dryer & an iron. Having said that, the beds are extremely comfortable, the room size was good, clean, the shower provided sufficent pressure & plenty of hot water. I have stayed in high end hotels that cost much more & had more furniture, but if you want a BASIC room at a reasonable cost & is conveniently located, and want to stay for just a night, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay Hotel Atwater and for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Atwater for one night for a friend's engagement party. It was centrally located, had all the basic amenities, free wifi, and was inexpensive. If you're looking for a luxurious stay, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a place in the center of town with basic accommodations, this is spot on. Also, they're one of the few hotels that allow a single night stay over a weekend. They also allowed us to check out one hour late and held our bags until our ferry departure. I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Atwater and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice and clean. The bathroom was small and the stairs were steep, but oh well. It doesn't have A/C but it didn't need it when I was there in May of 2010...we opened the window. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly...they even held our bags after checkout since we were catching the latest boat out after two wonderful days. I recommend the golf cart rentals but not the furthest one down because that older caveman was rude, lol.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Atwater and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. We recognize our staff when they go out of their way to create exceptional experiences for our guests.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My main review was done previously on Yelp and I am too lazy to repeat it here. In brief, very clean, staff was great, beds extremely comfortable. Ambiance is wonderful - brings you back to another era. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The stairs were a bit steep and the bathroom was tiny. However, the room was clean and bed was comfortable. I guess you couldn't ask for a better deal in the overpriced island. The concierge were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island
Free internet...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.2 mi away
El Terado Terrace
El Terado Terrace
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#10 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atwater 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.