We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and worth the cost, though the room had an issue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atwater

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atwater to your Saves list
Hotel Atwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Escape Package
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly staff and worth the cost, though the room had an issue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We thought for the price this place was a good deal. The best part is for $50 extra for a couple you can do all the island activities. This is a huge cost saver and probably more people should know about it. It includes the movie ticket to see the show at the Casino, boat tours, land tours, etc. Great value.

The staff was friendly. The only bad part of the stay was our toilet was clogged pretty much the whole time we were there. Even though I told the staff several times about it no one ever came to fix it. So that was a bummer.

The walls were a little on the thin side but overall fine. The room is clean and the location is great. The hotel has a bit of charm to it as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Marketing Department at Hotel Atwater, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service and atmosphere, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We appreciate any and all feedback. We apologize for the lack of service in regards to your clogged toilet. We will work on improving our response to guests' problems in the future,so this will not happen again. We are glad you enjoyed Catalina Island and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    128
    56
    20
    11
See reviews for
79
130
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds, they were very comfy with high quality sheets. The hotel was quiet and clean, no frills but just wha we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been going to Catalina for my whole life. I must say the improvements to the Atwater hotel is great! The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. I love the new look with the red and gold compared to the old blue they use to have. I know it is an older hotel and has stairs, but it is still one of more more reasonable priced hotels on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The room was nicer then I expected it to be, very clean and comfortable. The service was excellent. Sorin and Alex really helped with the questions we had, and offered us a delicious cold lemonade while we waited for our room. It was an excellent experience. I highly recomend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great view. Very accommodating. Alex at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and we took all the tours he recommended to us. The room was pretty small but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Valley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everyone is so nice and helpful. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they are reasonable. It's all about location, location, location and they have got it. So close to everything. We have been having our family reunions here for 35 years. We love Catalina!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Great Staff, very friendly and helpful. The hotel had just been re-done (so I heard), everything was clean and bright. I had the all-inclusive package, so I spent all my time on tours or on the beach. Yes, the rooms are small, but if you are planning on spending all of your time in the room, don't go to Avalon!! All of the fun is outside! I would stay there again, for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atwater

Address: 125 Sumner Street, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Atwater 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1/2 a block from the beach, the historic Hotel Atwater was built in the 1920's and offers a wide variety of room types from Economy Rooms, Standard Rooms to Suites. This hotel fits any budget and is perfect for active couples, families, scuba divers and large groups. Offerings include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, Suites and Standard Rooms feature air conditioning / heating, iron and ironing boards, Suites and Standard Rooms feature hair dryers, basic-cable TV - free HBO and Showtime, senior, military and group discounts, complimentary storage room for dive gear, mountain bikes and luggage. Outdoor rinse-off showers for divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Atwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atwater Hotel Avalon
Hotel Atwater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.