We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Lauren to your Saves list
Hotel St. Lauren
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Chico, California, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel has a great location. Not too close to downtown so you don't get a lot of noise and not too far away. You can easily walk into downtown. The lady at the front desk was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The hotel was built in 1989 and hasn't been updated since. The room was small and the shower didn't have great water pressure. Everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    55
    26
    23
See reviews for
48
105
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the St. Lauren before, and the staff have been incredibly helpful, so I made reservations for the Flying Fish Festival, which is delightful. Trip arrangements were exactly what I wanted and worked perfectly. My room was ready when I arrived and was impeccably clean, it's a little small. There is no refrigerator in the room, but the ice machine downstairs always works, and if you want to cook (which I don't) there is a microwave downstairs. There is a working elevator and a sixth floor patio with a great view. The staff are helpful and friendly, and even though it had been several years since my last visit, remembered my name. The t.v. in the room is small, and doesn't get a large number of channels, but that isn't why I go to Avalon- -the charm and ambiance of the hotel and staff reflect the "old" Avalon--charming, picturesque, and occasionally a little seedy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linneleee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

As you walk up to this place, its clearly Victorian and Hotel St. Lauren appears to have plenty of charm. Once you get through the doors however that charm begins to fade. The lobby does have an ornate ceiling but a dingy corridor with dirty drop ceiling tiles brought my expectations down considerably and entering the room confirmed that disappointment was in order. The room was clean but welcomed us with awful decor and lighting that was clearly from the 1980's, not 1880's! Drab paint, windows that cannot be opened, a small tube television and clock radio along with scuffed up furniture and scratchy sheets all failed to impress. At this price point, the rooms are in need of minor updating rather than a major overhaul. A little effort here could go a long way. Staff was courteous during check in/out, however.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, a nice place to stay. They do not have wi fi in the rooms and the service goes in and out on the cell phones. The road to the place is under construction so you have to walk in the street and the last two blocks are pretty steep. They do not have a shuttle available.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Let me start off by saying that hotels in Avalon, Catalina are usually expensive if you are looking for a 1 night's stay over the summer/fall weekends. We managed to get a not so expensive price for a 1 night's stay at this hotel in late October. The hotel is a short walk from Main Street and stands out with its cute pink color. Our room (we had 1 queen bed) was a little cramped, but was ok for the 2 of us. The furnishings were quite decent, and the bathroom was clean as well. The room itself didn't quite have any great view, but if you go to the roof-top of the hotel, you will get beautiful views. We spent most of our first day on the beach and on the Main Street area. On the second day we did the

Considering the price we got for that weekend's stay, I'd give this place 4/5. Else, if we were to pay the usual prices, I'd say this one is 3/5. But Catalina is certainly a must do and we had a good stay at St. Lauren.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Absolutely loved the charm of this hotel. Close enough to the action but set back off the main street allowed for good sleep. Only downer was the outdated flowery bedspreads. Would recommend for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The stay was Great at Avalon, but the hotel is set back more and a bit of a walk, besides rooms being alil small Been trying to get another vacation day set up, but the staff are not working with me enough to get a good time and date set. Very frustrating that they want my money but cant work with me to schedule an appointment so I can make plans with the wife.

Room Tip: Read the reviews first and do some investigating on where you want to stay. I should have done this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Groupon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Lauren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.