We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Cute” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel St. Lauren to your Saves list
Hotel St. Lauren
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Blythe, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint & Cute”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel was by no means a five-star hotel, but it was so cute. The hotel staff was wonderful and friendly. The hotel is indeed in need of a few upgrades, but this town has rich history and when you go into the hotel, you can feel the history with each step. I did see a few other hotels that might have been worth looking into, but I am in no way complaining of my stay. I have traveled a great deal of places and have stayed in a great number of rooms, and I can say that I am pleased with my stay even up against the great hotels. I hope that while there are several bad reviews here about this hotel, the hotel is not as bad as it would seem. When next I return, I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    55
    26
    23
See reviews for
48
105
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed in the Hotel St Lauren over New Years with another family as travel companions. We generally found the hotel to be acceptable but not particularly enjoyable. The rooms and bathrooms are VERY dated and worn. It is an island, so I understand space is a premium, but the rooms are quite small. The staff was generally friendly and helpful, and the hotel's location was quite good (just off the main street). The price was high but considering the time and limited availability on Catalina one of the lower hotels in town.

Although it was a decent room, both families agreed that we would never return to the hotel. If budget is your top priority then this will be a decent place to sleep on the island, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Charged over $200.00 per night for the following ammenities: Toilet seat did not stay up...had to pee sitting down. Mold on walls and ceiling. Wall paper peeling and holes in it. Rusted towel rack, toilet paper holder, tissue holder, and sink support. Holes in drapes. Burn impression of an iron in the carpet. I could go on, but my fingers would get tired of typing and I'm getting upset all over again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Sleep on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stlaurenmanagement, Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
The Hotel had one guest that stayed with us for two days in June 2012 and assume it's their review. They did not complain until check-out and wanted all their charges for the two days refunded. He claimed to be a lawyer. He tried to reverse his credit card with his credit card company and lost due to the fact he stayed two days. Six months later he posted this review. We encourage travelers to take the whole of our property's reviews when judging us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband had planned a romantic get away on our anniverssary, but unfortunately he was deployed the night before. I contact the staff at ST.Lauren and was immediately issued a full refund. Once my husband returned home we made that trip to Catalina. The staff at St.Lauren was very helpful . Our room was perfect, very clean and was served with complimentary breakfast.The views on the top balcony are amazing. The hotel is in minutes to down town in walking distance. We are planning our trip back..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel St. Lauren for our wedding anniversary. This was our first time visiting Catalina, so we chose this hotel based on reviews and a good price through Groupon. The staff was very friendly, rooms very clean, and the views are among the best in Avalon. We had a room with a balcony on the 5th floor overlooking all of Avalon and the bay from the casino to the Catalina Landing. Balcony was great for stargazing as well. The hotel has two outside patios for guests, one on the 6th floor and one on the 2nd that is more secluded. Both offer beautiful views of the bay. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is only a short walk to all shops and restaurants. Vons Grocery is a half block away.
Hotel staff was courteous and helpful.
Rooms do not have coffeemakers, which we missed having. Coffee is available in the lobby from 8:00-10:00 a.m. We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel St. Lauren and plan to stay there again on our next trip to Catalina.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here with my girls friends for a girls weekend. It was cute and meet our needs, the walls are a little thin and some of the stuff is outdated. But all we really needed was a place to sleep. It was not over priced for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Enjoyed a nights stay here in October 2012 and found the hotel very well located in the middle of the town. The room was a reasonable size and had a comfortable bed, but the room did look a little dated which detracted from things a little bit. The hotel has a lovely 6th floor balcony which overlooks the town towards to port and beach area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Lauren 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Lauren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.