We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View from 6th Floor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Lauren to your Saves list
Hotel St. Lauren
231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful View from 6th Floor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel St Lauren...This hotel is just a quick walk down the hill to the main street along the harbor. The "Stay Here" point for me is that if you book a room on the 6th floor you can step right outside to a large deck with tables and lounge chairs that has this "BEAUTIFUL" Panoramic view of most everything! It's a straight look out onto the harbor. You can see the old Casino, the Yacht club, the boats, then from the side you can view the mountainous terrain and beautiful estates. It is right in the heart of everything, and the Pink Victorian boutique style rooms are comfortable. The hotel being more of an 'Old House" style lends to the rooms being more like bedrooms than having the feeling of a hotel. I'm not sure if all the rooms are the same; mine was a bit small but had good lighting, and was very comfortable and quiet. There was plenty of hot water and I did enjoy the stay. Best tip though is to get a room on the 6th floor and ask for one of the rooms close to the door to the open deck patio. That is very romantic! Also a good place if your stay is more than a day or two and you enjoy hanging there with friends or family or just want to sun and read a good book.
Reccommend this for girls weekend, solitude for ones'self, or a couple. Large family will find the room too small, but then I dont have a comparison right now to other hotels on the island to know if there is a more suitable hotel for larger rooms. If planning a family get away, please get 2 rooms so you will have the best accomodations.

Room Tip: 6th floor! Room closest to the open deck patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    55
    26
    21
See reviews for
48
101
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liberty112
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel St. Lauren has a very cute "Northern California Victorian" look to the outside, and the pink exterior just tops off the fun charm of this hotel. The hotel is much larger inside than it looks from the outside. We booked a stay for 3 nights in November 2012 during the off season and got a wonderful rate. The reviews on yelp and TA had me nervous about customer service, but really we had no issues whatsoever. The night desk girl was always friendly and smiled at us when we checked in and always said "Hello" to us as we were coming or going. I had envisioned a grumpy old ogre growling at us on our arrival, but perhaps the previous reviews have been read and customer service is being improved upon. The morning desk woman was also always kind and told us to "Have fun!" as we were leaving in the mornings on our adventures for the day.

Our room was "small" compared to what most people would think of when thinking of a hotel room and I wouldn't advise it if you are staying with someone you don't much like. You WILL cross paths and you will be forced to make eye and body contact with your roommate. This isn't always a bad thing if you are looking to enjoy some much needed relaxation time with your spouse. :) Most importantly, the room was CLEAN and our room was cleaned WELL everyday during our outtings. Day 2 we had tracked in some sand from the beach and there wasn't a grain of it left after housekeeping had visited.

The carpet showed some wear, there were two spots on both sides of the bed where it looked like an iron had landed. The tv was small, but we weren't there for the television. The bed was comfortable- and had your old school style of hotel comforter on it. The decor is frilly and Victorian like- this isn't your upscale contemporary resort, but it matched and everything kept with the older vintage theme throughout the hotel.

The location is great as it was just a short walk to Vons- the grocery store, or to the main street or beach areas. We walked to Lover's Cove each day hauling all our snorkel gear and wetsuits and had no issues. There is a hill but it creates a great view from the 6th floor balcony- take a few minutes and look out over Avalon. It isn't as dramatic as the view at Hamilton Cove, but it is beautiful and looking at all the homes and mountains was neat!

We picked this hotel because we were looking for "budget" and not frills during this stay in Avalon. We went into it knowing we didn't rent a luxery condo, but a low cost hotel. I think we were pleasantly surprised at our accomodations and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants budget with cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute, because it was all that was available. The outside is very adorable and looks like an old doll house. The inside is old, but very quaint. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the docking pier, with the last block being slightly uphill; it's 5 minutes away fom the main street (Crescent ave). The room is very small and old, but it was clean. My biggest complaint is the toilet ran for hours after each time it was flushed and the windows are paper thin so you can hear everyone outside. The 6th floor patio is a fantastic view! Overlooking the ocean and city. Staff isn't very outgoing and you hardly ever see them. No breakfast offered. If you get a good deal and aren't expecting a fancy hotel, you will be fine.

Room Tip: Book one on floor six where the patio is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinetop-Lakeside, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel was clean, room size is adequate for a couple, but if sharing with kids the futon was uncomfortable. Good location on top of a hill, nice views from the patio. Just a few minutes walk to the center of town, restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were very disappointed in this place. The rooms were tiny, outdated and the room window air conditioner smelled like a vitamin bottle. The window only opened about 1 inch. Our recommendation is find another place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We scouted this hotel during our visit to the island in August. Very clean property, helpful front desk, gorgeous common patio on the 6th floor, and decided to stay there on our September visit. Very quiet, nice room, and we will go back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The building on the outside was cute and the view from the patio was gorgeous,
However, we spent $300 a night for an old guest room at a hotel with low occupancy in a low season.
The disappointment unfortunately did not end there. Front desk staff need some training or re-training on how to smile and how to interact with guests. They don't acknowledge a guest's presence and they carry on their private conversations in a foreign language even in the presence of a guest.
When we asked if we could leave our luggage for few hours in a secure place, we were informed that: "there is a staircase under the staircase and it doesn't lock so leave them at your own risk" When we asked if she meant storage, the reply was: "whatever".
I would recommend some training on guest service and maybe remodel a little, because the bathroom, bed and carpet and screaming to retire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Lauren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.