We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Lauren

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Lauren to your Saves list
Hotel St. Lauren
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

clean rooms, friendly staff, flexible stay options, great rates, great views, right in the heart of avalon giving you close distance to eveything yet just far away from the noise. everything you need when looking for a place to stay on the rock.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    55
    26
    23
See reviews for
48
105
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's a very quaint victorian hotel. Two blocks from all the action. One block is a steep walk up. Rooms are small and even though Expedia checked for me and the hotel said we would get two queens we got a king and a futon or fold out couch. Rooms and hotel are clean. No front desk after 10 PM. Good wifi connection. The island is great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Clean, cozy and friendly staff. Good location, about a block from everything. If u are just looking for a place to sleep and shower, this is a good stop. Very simple rooms, but clean. That's what's important to me.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The "full view" room was simply amazing. A perfect distance from town, lovely staff, wonderful amenities. A perfect hotel for a stay on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Avalon. The island and this hotel represent the charm of Avalon is such a unique way. There is an excellent view and I liked being away from the noise of downtown. The walk was always refreshing and enjoyable and we felt like a local staying in this personable and quaint property. When you visit Avalon, being away from it all is part of your stay, and this hotel helps support your need to relax, refresh, and get out to see the island. I have stayed at other properties and didn't like the hustle and commercialism of the properties close to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows to open for the fresh morning air each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked my stay last minute so I didn't expect much, but I paid 200 dollars for a room with no view, a 13 inch tube tv, and what looked like mold in the bathroom.

Staff was okay but not really friendly.

No breakfast, just coffee.

I don't feel I got my money's worth at all, but if you are in a crunch like I was it is a place to sleep. You can do much better if you are planning in advance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The deck on the 6th floor, available to all customers, is what makes this hotel a great stay. It is simply the best view of Avalon harbor in the city.
We had a "residential" room, which doesn't have a view, but it didn't matter because we were on the 6th floor. We got a king bed + futon, for the extra room, since I get claustrophobic in small hotel rooms. This room was about 12x12, with the bath off to the side. We had 2 windows opening onto a tree in the next yard, plus the bathroom had a skylight, so there was plenty of natural light.
I wonder how well this room will fare when the real hot weather comes, since the AC unit is located in the side hall near the bathroom. There was an overhead fan in the main section of the room, which I kept on constantly since the room was a little stuffy. (I didn't figure out how to open the windows until our last day).
It would have been nice if these rooms came with a small refrigerator and a coffee maker, since food in Avalon is so expensive. But that's a small complaint. They had coffee available in the mornings (but no pastries as advertised!)
Otherwise, the room was exceptionally clean, the bed was comfy, there were plenty of pillows. TV reception was great.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 6th floor, for easy access to the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Lauren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Groupon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Lauren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.