We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yikes” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Place - CLOSED

Joe's Place
501 Crescent Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-0491
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“yikes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Help this place. It needs new staff, and better food. And its in a really great location, but the management needs to really fix this place up...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    12
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only Place for Breakfast for Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As nice as a Continental Breakfast at a hotel is (And the Pavillion is great) I really like having a hearty breakfast. Joe's Place for breakfast was that place for me! Good portions, good service, it was easy to see why it was busy. The interior was a lot of vintage photographs, posters etc so it was fun to just look around even when we were waiting for our meal to come up. Good food!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You Better Watch Out for Hostess Daisy The Shark”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wow. We found it pretty lame that, this person will tell you your table will take 10 minutes but without warning, will give your table away in less than five if you happen to step away from the door. Then by now, you get to wait for an additional 25 minutes.
They don't care because it's just about the only place to have breakfast on the whole island. We just left without breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The food was delicious and affordable pricing. We went out to breakfast here and my husband had the chili cheese omelet which he enjoyed very much.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Affordable and good tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The breakfast servings are plentiful and taste good. The prices are affordable. And the location is directly across the pier and beach area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Place also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.