We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access to the Casino's Ballroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Casino Ballroom

Catalina Island Casino Ballroom
1 Casino Way, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310 510 2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 46 things to do in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Few words can describe the ambiance of the Catalina Casino: it epitomizes everything glamorous and romantic about Catalina Island. The one-of-a-kind venue is simply stunning inside, outside, and all around. If the meticulously decorated walls could talk, they’d tell countless stories of romance and celebration gathered from decades of memorable events. The immense, Deco-themed ballroom is large enough to contain weddings, large meetings or lectures or musical events. The Casino has retained its signature lavish style: a stunning medley of rose-hued walls, an arching, 50-foot ceiling with five Tiffany chandeliers, an elevated stage, raised seating areas surrounding the wooden dance floor, and a vintage full-service bar anchoring the back. A sweeping veranda surrounds the ballroom with stunning 360-degree views of Avalon Bay.
San Diego, Ca.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Access to the Casino's Ballroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Step ramps to get to the Ballroom. A Power chair with four wheels and a pusher if you have a manual chair is recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    32
    7
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Family wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room was beautiful and large. Great place for a wedding reception...although you have to climb up many ramps to get to the top! Could have had more experienced and more bartenders for such a large group.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Catalina Casino Behind The Scenes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My name is Evelyn Cano and I have been living on Catalina Island for 22 Yrs. I had never been on the Casino Behind the Scenes Tour, untill today 09/12/2013...Our Tour Guide was Rebecka...Wow!!!! I was so supprised to come to find out and learn the history of the Famous Casino which is an amazing tour. Rebecka did a wonderful job and I can see how much she enjoys working in what she likes. Where you will get the best service is where you find the people that work in what they like and they like wat they do. She was great!!!.. There is so much information you get and so many things to see I never knew the Casino was 12 Floors who would have thought that well I recomend this tour to anyone that would like to learn and see what the Famous Casino is all about..thank you Rebecka for a great tour...Evelyn Cano

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Last tour at 2:15pm during last week of August?? Really??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were very disappointed during our "day trip" to Avalon on Catalina Island on Wed., 8/28/13. Having taken the 10:00am Catalina Express over from Long Beach, we expected to spend to enjoy lunch then do a couple of tours, including the Casino, and some walking around, gallery visits and shopping. There are 2 tours available at the Casino, one for $10 (basic tour to enjoy the art deco styling, etc.) and one for $25 ("behind-the-scenes" tour -- not sure what could be very "behind the scenes" considering the use of the Casino today, so didn't expect it to be worth $25). Our group of 4 was going to do the basic tour after having done lunch and a city tour earlier and spending some time "walking the town". We expected to do a late afternoon tour, arriving at the Casino around 3:15 to purchase tickets for the next available tour. To our surprise, the last basic tour started at 2:15pm -- the last tour? Really?? Who stops tours in the early afternoon, especially the week leading up to Labor Day weekend? There was a $25 tour later, but the last of that type started at 3:00pm?? We were very disappointed, especially after learning earlier that the two restaurants at which we'd hope to have lunch both closed at 1:00pm! It lead us to the conclusion that the island folks aren't really thinking of tourists visiting, but apparently like to close in the early afternoon for a little "siesta" before the night life begins later in the evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The 30 min. tour is great and give you a glimpse on history of this building and Catalina. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Catalina for the first time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Casino Ballroom also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Catalina Island Casino Ballroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Casino Ballroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.