We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DRAGON TREE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden

Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden
125 Clarissa Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310.510.2897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 48 things to do in Avalon
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden is a thirty-minute stroll up Avalon Canyon from town center. Or, take a quick ride by golf cart or bike, or by trolley. The Botanic Garden is the primary gateway to access one of the Island's most popular hikes, the Garden to Sky Trail.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DRAGON TREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I visited the island in celebration of our 12th anniversary, the memory made is priceless!! Thank you

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    134
    70
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“stairs and gardens and stairs...oh my”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We took the Red Trolley to the memorial. the garden was very nice but we were more interested in the Memorial. If you go here, take the ramp on the left. The stairs on the right are STAIRS....lots of them. The stairs on the left are more ramp style than anything. The view from the top is amazing. There are hiking trails throughout the place. It was beautiful. Bring your camera.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cacti and Natives”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Although well laid out and labeled this is not a must see. We passed through it on our way to the Garden to the Sky Hike. The Memorial is not that overwhelming.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Flats, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Take the trolley, allow one to two hours, hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

For a couple of bucks each way, you can take the trolley up to the gardens. It is hilly. Entry fee 7.00, and self guided tours. You can see several videos on different subjects. Lots of native to Catalina specimens, labelled. Bathrooms. A hike to Wrigley Jr. monument, with many stairs, but the views once there are worth it. Very dry due to the drought but still picturesque and many great photos taken. If you are into xeriscaping, you will for sure enjoy this or if not the architecture is still beautiful. The trolley sounds a little iffy with grinding gears and lurching to and fro, but driver experienced and lots of windows to see the golf course on way up, which was spectacular. We caught the trolley at the Plaza in town, just call to make sure they stop for you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting flora...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

An uphill walk from town to burn off the large breakfast. A buy one get one coupon was available from the Catalina Express magazine! Although only a few cacti were flowering, it was still an educational and pleasant excursion. The Wrigley Memorial was an amazing feat of tile work and stone carving with heavy bronze doors. A "bucket list" item.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrigley Memorial & Botanic Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.