We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Grille

Avalon Grille
423 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+1 310-510-7494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Avalon Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Catalina Avenue
Description: Avalon's waterfront dining, located at the foot of the Green Pleasure Pier, is open seven days a week for lunch (Fri-Sun) and dinner with a lively, central bar and open air dining. The Avalon Grille features American regional dishes with a seasonal approach, paired with a world class selection of wines, micro-brew beers and cocktails in a casual and fun "al fresco" atmosphere overlooking Avalon Bay. The Avalon Grille boasts a fabulous menu including Lobster mac n' cheese, Cioppino and our famous Roasted Brussels Sprouts. No reservations necessary.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our dining experience. The food is very good by any standard. We had catch of the day (yellowtail) and seafood linguini, both excellent. Bread and soup were hot and fresh. Not wishing to wait 20 minutes, we ate at the bar and still enjoyed good service. The restaurant atmosphere is nice too, with open windows to the sea air.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for dining with us at the Avalon Grille. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the ocean air and your dinner at the bar. The Yellowtail has been a favorite. My team and I appreciate you taking the time to post about your experience on TripAdvisor.

Please come back and see us next time you are on the island.

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    131
    51
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant right in the middle of all the activity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a wonderful meal at Avalon Grille. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff were very attentive and helpful. We will definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at the Avalon Grille on your recent trip to Catalina Island. Also, we very much appreciate you taking the time to comment about your experience with us. My team and I look forward to seeing you again on the island.

Sincerely,

Roshan KC
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

One of the nicest place to eat in Avalon. Very nice atmosphere, steaks, seafood, all good. Good service. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herculaneum, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“They really care!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had the opportunity to have dinner at the Avalon Grille recently. As my wife is gluten intolerant (she has celiac disease) we made it a point to inquire how the dishes were prepared. At first, it sounded like the short ribs would be ok for her, but when they brought them out they appeared to have a gravy on them. Sure enough, when they checked with the cook it had wheat flour in it. Here is where the manager saved the evening. He suggested that my wife get the quail as it was a gluten free prepared dish. He then was able to bring out the next quail dish that was coming out of the kitchen as the party that had originally ordered it was still working on their appetizers. As a result, we were able to enjoy our entrees together. The food was delicious, well prepared and attractively served. We sat at a rather tall table which is often a difficulty for vertically challenged people. However, these seats had footrests so that our feet weren't dangling off the floor. The atmosphere was very pleasant. There were two large flat screens over the bar for entertainment purposes. This was an overall very positive experience for us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you posting about your experience at the Avalon Grille on TripAdvisor. Thank you for dining with us on your recent trip to Catalina Island. I am happy to hear that we are happy to help make your dinner memorable. We hope to see you again soon at the Avalon Grille!

Sincerely,

Markus Mrakovcich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worst Service on the Island__Food not any better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Last Friday evening my wife and I dined at the Avalon Grille on Catalina Island. I ordered the Salmon. First, the waitress took 20 minutes to bring a glass of wine. We asked to have the heater turned on next to the table and was told they didn't have any propane. Then my salmon was served raw (and served with the grey skin side up!!--shows the cook just flopped it on the plate). It took the waitress 15 minutes to come back and take away the plate. She did bring me a free bowl of clam chowder, but by this time we had been there for more than an hour, they hadn't refilled by water glass or asked if I wanted another glass of wine (which they should have offered at no cost). No way I was going to wait for another plate of salmon to show up. No one came back (such as a manager) to apologize for the raw food and the terrible service. Then it took another 20 minutes to get and pay the check. BTW, the average entree at this restaurant is around $30. What a disaster, don't ever go to this place to eat!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent experience at the Avalon Grille. We appreciate your feedback as we use this to improve upon the quality of your experience in the future. Please email us at social@scico.com .

Sincerely,

Markus Mrakovcich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon Grille also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Avalon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.