We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat and people watch while in Catalina.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Grille

Avalon Grille
423 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+1 310-510-7494
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Avalon Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Catalina Avenue
Description: Avalon's waterfront dining, located at the foot of the Green Pleasure Pier, is open seven days a week for lunch (Fri-Sun) and dinner with a lively, central bar and open air dining. The Avalon Grille features American regional dishes with a seasonal approach, paired with a world class selection of wines, micro-brew beers and cocktails in a casual and fun "al fresco" atmosphere overlooking Avalon Bay. The Avalon Grille boasts a fabulous menu including Miso Cured Bass, Lavender Roast Chicken and our famous Roasted Brussels Sprouts.
Wrangell, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and people watch while in Catalina.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped to eat at this wonderful restaurant. Wonderful service and great food. Great place to eat and people watch while on beautiful Catalina Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at the Avalon Grille while visiting Catalina Island. We appreciate the feedback that you wrote about on TripAdvisor. My team and I were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Again, thank you for coming to see us and we hope to see you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Markus Mrakovcich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    150
    57
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Jazztrax menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the fixed price 3 course Jazztrax menu, and it was very tasty and a good deal. Service was good, and we had a nice table outside with a view.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great meal at the Avalon Grille. Nice service, nice atmosphere, and delicious food we didn't expect in this type of resort/beach town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The grill looked upscale but the food wasn't . The service was good but the food was mediocre! The soup was good but the main course was just ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Long time customer will not return ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

After many meals at this restaurant, my wife and I will not return. On our visit tonight prior to Jazz Fest Food was very good, service was acceptable but the management was unprofessional and rude. After dinner we ordered dessert and coffee, we told our waiter we were under time restraints due to the concert. After waiting almost twenty minutes for a simple dessert we asked for our check. Waiter sensed our frustration (still no dessert but on the bill). He told us he would remove from the check. Manager came over and told us she would box it up for us to take or she would give us a note to have the dessert on a future visit. ( both ridiculous suggestions). Her lack of providing good customer service by eliminating the $10 dessert on our bill has resulted in our intent not to return. We have literally spent thousands of dollars over the past year - more. Too many other choices now on Catalina Island. Avalon Grill needs to wake up and realize they're not the only place where customers to spend their money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Avalon Grille, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at Avalon Grille. While I appreciate your comments regarding our cuisine, I am sorry to hear about your experience with our team. We hold ourselves to high standards and would like the chance to restore your confidence in our restaurant.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Markus Mrakovcich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon Grille also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Avalon Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.