We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humongous portions of Bert good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Trap

The Lobster Trap
128 Catalina St, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Portland, oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Humongous portions of Bert good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Obviously a local favorite. I had the delicious shrimp angel hair pasta and could only eat half as the servings are so big. It could easily have fed two. Very friendly staff and our waitress was a knockout as well. Everyone is enjoying themselves so much that it is noisy but in a very pleasant way

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    233
    61
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, I Crave their food everyday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I love great food. We enjoy food to the max and Lobster Trap definitely impressed us! Everyday I crave their DELICIOUS Crab Cakes and their ridiculously amazing Calamari. We also ordered the Clam Chowder, which was phenomenal. As the main course my boyfriend had the Lobster Roll, it came with loads of Lobster. It was delicious nonetheless. As my main course I had the fish n chips and they were the best fish n chips I have tasted. The fish tasted so fresh!

We came in to eat for a 2nd time before we left Catalina. We had the shrimp, yellowtail, and swordfish tacos. they were unbelievably fresh and tasted amazing! We cant wait to go back and eat there again.
Like I said, I crave their food everyday!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

While visiting the island this place was recommended by a Los Angeles Sheriff Deputy. We went there for lunch and indeed the food was very good and good portions. Prices were very reasonable and I would recommend eating here .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great food and fun at any time during the day. Love the oysters, clam chowder, lobster.........great shots........great service. Worth coming from Ireland to dine here and they do great take out fresh fish to BBQ at home. Staff are fantastic and a great kitchen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best nights ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Me and my husband went to Catalina for a much needed "date night" we had a total blast. The food and drinks were amazing and the staff is great! I can't wait to go back!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Trap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.