We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice waiters but slow kitchen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobster Trap

The Lobster Trap
128 Catalina St, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-8585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice waiters but slow kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an enjoyable dinner on a Thursday evening there. Wait staffs were courteous and friendly, Very helpful but we waited a long time from menu, to drinks, to ordering, to our food, to getting our check, to getting our cc receipt and everything else! This place was packed but Food was great though! Wished they hired more help to achieve a better turn around.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    218
    55
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Donkey balls was interesting.

Staff was really friendly. Their spicy seafood pasta was seriously yummy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place was packed and we had to wait a bit for a seat. But it was worth the wait. I had the swordfish taco with sweet potato fries. Very tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swordfish to Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great food , amazing seafood and great value draft beer , catch happy hour 2-4 pm every day for beer at $3 a pint such as IPA. The swordfish steak is thick and beautifully cooked and blackened with Rosie Marie Sauce and a side of garlic mushrooms with a baked potato with sour cream is to die for. Great atmosphere , decorations and busy . At night you can be waiting 1 hour for a table of Saturdays . The halibut , swordfish and sea bass caught locally. You need to visit this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty food, accommodating staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

There was so much on the menu, it was tough to pick and so I had plenty of questions. The lovely waitress offered a tasting spree which was great.

Will give this place an A for service! It def tops the rest of the eateries scattered around the boulevard, It isn't cheap, but nothing is on the island of Catalina, The food is flavorful and the staff was friendly and accommodating. We had the cod and chips which was tasty and the Rosie special sauce with chicken and of course I got to try the garlic sauce and a few more before I settled on my order.

Definitely better than going to the over priced restaurants on the main street. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Trap also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Lobster Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobster Trap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.