We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style Breakfast like home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Jack's Country Kitchen

Original Jack's Country Kitchen
118 Catalina Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
West Covina, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old Style Breakfast like home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The food reminds you of home cooking, the prices are reasonable and they have a kids menu. There is always a wait to get in, so expect at least a 20 minute wait depending on what time you get there. The decor is old time Hollywood and looks cool. There are televisions that have different shows on, but they don't distract from breakfas if you don't want to watch. Great place for breakfast.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    72
    31
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old fashioned coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Food was good. price was right, not expensive compared to other restaurants in Avalon. Daniel our waiter did a great job, checked if we were OK even they were very busy. Reminds like an old fashioned dinner

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plains, Oregon, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There are no places in Avalon to eat on a budget, so price is mostly not a concern worth addressing. They had a small patio seating area and the food was good. We split a Club Sandwich and ordered a Caesar Salad, two beers for around forty dollars. If you like touristy places, nice weather, and crowds, Avalon is worth the trip.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Spectacular service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had 11 people in our party and the hostess went beyond expected to seat us all quickly. Food was good and so fitting for the island. We ate there every morning.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“get away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

One block off the main Avalon Beach street, Jack's Country Kitchen provides a good breakfast and a place to talk and relax. It is more 'home town country' than tourist beach. They offer a fair price for better than average food. It is a bit more expensive than some other island offerings; but it is well worth it. I have never felt rushed while eating a very leisurely meal. They have always gotten my special request right. They offer vegetarian offerings and appear to be ecologically sensitive. I am a regular visitor to Avalon (3 or 4 times each year). I have always been pleased with the food and service and Jacks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Jack's Country Kitchen also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Original Jack's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Jack's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.