We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic breakfast place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Jack's Country Kitchen

Original Jack's Country Kitchen
118 Catalina Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Corona, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Classic breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We came here the day after the marathon and the place was packed but the wait was only about 20 minutes. Service was friendly and efficient and coffee decent (but I am not fussy). I had the beef scramble and it was OK but hubby's corned beef hash was really good. Kiddo had the smoked salmon and lox and enjoyed it hugely.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    85
    34
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Gabriel, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast -- Lunch not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I shared a Monte Cristo sandwich and Caeser salad one afternoon for lunch with my sister-in-law and it was fantastic. Two days later went to eat with same sis-in-law plus nephew and his friend and our lunch was not so good. I had the Chicken Tostada which was okay but not anything special. Sister-in-law had corned beef sandwich which was pathetic (not even enough meat for half a sandwich and it was dry), nephew had a burger and it was nothing exciting, and his friend had fish and chips which looked okay but had no taste. First meal here was rewarding but second time around makes me think this is a place to have breakfast and go somewhere else for lunch. Bill for lunch for 4 was $66+. Will look around at other eateries before I return to Jack's - sorry.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“late breakast/lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

this place reminds me of the old style diners you would find along a country road. the service was great. drinks come in a souvenir cup. we sat near the window and watched everyone try to navigate the golf carts. they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ate here with a small group and we were less than satisfied with our breakfast. Ordered strawberry pie, didn't have it, ordered apple pie, they didn't have it, finally ordered peach pie and it wasn't very good. Breakfast burrito was dry and unevenly prepared, and if you think oatmeal with bananas is too easy to mess up don't ask for the bananas, they were bad. Waitress came by 20 min after we were finished with the bill and had to be flagged down for a refill on juice. I wouldn't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Always A must stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great little country kitchen with hardy breakfasts, good variety of choices, always a crowd outside waiting, opens early so perfect place before sunrise

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Jack's Country Kitchen also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Original Jack's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Jack's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.