We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to enjoy local dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Original Jack's Country Kitchen

Original Jack's Country Kitchen
118 Catalina Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 46 restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy local dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Enjoyed lunch & breakfast here recently. Ricardo & June took very good care of us. I was dissappointed that they were out of the navy bean soup, but had the BEST clam chowder!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    102
    60
    26
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Service, Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The menu here is HUGE. So many yummy choices. But our group of 5 ordered regular breakfast fare, and it was very good. The cook has a good handle on doing eggs perfectly no matter the style. Excellent sausage. Ask for extra butter if you order the sourdough, it's a lot of toast!

The only thing that was actually TERRIBLE was the huevos rancheros. If they always make them the way they did when we were there, they need to change their recipe. YUK!

Anyway, I'd like to try the Monte Cristo sandwich next time. It looked fabulous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

On a recent trip to Catalina, happened to stop in at Jack's for breakfast. Not only were they very hospitable, but accommodating also. Usually split orders with the wife, and there was no hesitation. In fact they made great recommendations as to what would be best to split between us. Food is reasonably priced and excellent. Even made sure we had enough soft drink to take with us and every time we came back by the were happy to refill. Just don't get this much anymore when visiting vacation spots.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“H & R Chacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Expect long wait on busy weekends. Known for eggs benedict, but we ordered country fried steak and eggs w/ pancake. All delicious! Service was great. Our waiter, Ricardo, had a non-stop smile.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I ordered the crab cake benedict. It was very good cuz the crab cake was not over breaded, they poached my eggs just the way i like them (no goobies), & the hollandaise was average. The hash browns were spot on. It was busy, but they were nice just busy. I'd go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Jack's Country Kitchen also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Original Jack's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Jack's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.