We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Peaceful, Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel
Save
You added Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel to your Saves list
199 Chimes Tower Road, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We absolutely loved this hotel! The views are spectacular. If you are looking for peace and tranquility...this is the place to stay. We loved the fact that the hotel encourages guests to abide by the peaceful environment. We are planning to go back again. If you like history, this old house/hotel has plenty of it. That was one of the other reasons why we chose this place. Lots of character!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    15
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

While not for the 5-star set, the Zane Grey is a fantastic place to stay when you want a great, rustic location with a beautiful view and a unique location overlooking Avalon Harbor. The rooms are fairly spartan, but in this respect they take you back to an earlier time of simplicity. In my opinion, if you want a quick getaway where you want to feel away from the mainland, this is the ticket. Basically, Catalina has the feel of the Greek Isles without having to fly around the globe... and you can't see the California coast, so you might has well be in the middle of the Pacific!

Room Tip: I like ones above the pool, highest up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent Valentine's weekend at the Zane Grey. I don't understand the negative reviews I read here, unless hotel management read them and made corrections (joking). Except for warm but not real hot water in shower, we were very pleased. The location is quiet, we had IMO a reasonably priced water view room (Zane Grey's former study). No phones (cells work fine) or TV in room. Located on the hillside between town and the Casino, the hotel's views are amazing. Michael the manager is very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast had brewed coffee, fresh fruit (whole apples, bananas, oranges), and bread-in-a-bag to make toast. Hotel was full but we didn't hear anything through the walls and I'm a light sleeper. The only challenge is the hike ( 10-15 minutes each way) up and down the hill to town, but nothing impossible to do (I'm 65). Taxi service readily available. Would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I would definitely stay here again. Catalina Island is great (we were there in the off-season; I wouldn't plan to go in the busy season as the tiny town of Avalon would be overrun with tourists and therefore less charming)... The Zane Grey Pueblo hotel has no TVs, phones or clocks in the rooms, which I quite like, though there is a TV in the common living room. My Mom & I had rooms next door to each other with an adjoining mountain-view balcony. Each room had a queen bed, bathroom (shower only), plus a sitting area with table & chairs and/or daybeds. There's a fantastic common patio area with great views of the harbour.

This is not a modern, luxury hotel -- it is old and quaint, with friendly, helpful staff. There's an unheated pool, a pay phone, and breakfast (of a sort) is provided -- coffee, tea, fruit, jam, and baggies of bread you can toast yourself. It's at the top of a hill, but it's only about a 10-minute walk to town, and there are scheduled free taxis to and from the hotel if you don't feel like walking. Lots of stairs here, so not suitable for folks with mobility challenges (wheelchair, walker, etc.). My Mom & I spent two nights here just relaxing and exploring the town, and it was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the amazing mid-week winter rates and stayed in the Desert Wheat room. The view was incredible. I awoke each morning to the most beautiful sunrises. (I kept the curtains open for this, but if you're not an early riser, just close them.) We watched a pod of dolphins swim across the bay and enjoyed resting and gazing at the harbor below. I loved that the hotel is set back from the town but it's only a quick walk away. We love walking and didn't have any problems. If mobility is an issue, then you'll want to rent a golf cart and be aware that the pueblo has stairs. There is a beautiful walking/running loop if you continue up the hill via the roadway. If you're open to a unique hotel and don't require luxury bathrooms or amenities, then you will love this place! If we could afford it, we would buy this place ourselves!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel is Pueblo Style. The rooms are named after novels of Zane Gray books. We stayed in the Black Mesa room. Each room is simply designed with no television, radio or phone to give you the feel of how the home was in the 1920's. The view of the moutains was really nice. I enjoyed listening to the sounds of the clock tower.

The rooms are simple and clean. The shower a little too small. No fridge in the room. The bed was a little on the firm side and my husband had trouble sleeping on it because he prefers a soft mattress. He ended up sleeping on the day bed. The continental breakfast is laughable because it consists of bread for toast , some frut, tea and coffee. The rooms cosat around $170.00 and up a night so they should be able to provide a better continental breakfast.

The hotel is situated on a hill so it is relatively quiet. The only down side is you have to walk to Avalon downhill and no one wants to walk back up that hill to get to the hotel. We ended up spending money on taxies to get back up on the hill.

I reccomend they spring for a better continental breakfast and try getting some softer beds. The place would be more interesting if they bothered to sell copies of Zane Gray's books and gave you more history inforamation about the hotel. The hotel is for sale, so I hope someone buys the hotel and fixes if up a bit because it is quite a gem. i still recommend you stay at the hotel due to its beauty and historical value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is perched just up the hill from downtown Avalon, which makes for fabulous views over the bay and is very restful. The courtesy taxi is completely unnecessary unless you have mobility problems, and it is a nice short walk up the hill from downtown. It's also nice to be slightly set back from the hustle and bustle of the city center.

There is, however, a downside. The room we had, a "superior" room with mountain view, was dark and dingy and basically looked like a cheap motel room. The shower and toilet were absolutely tiny (like, you could barely turn round in the shower room). It was clean, but I feel like if the best thing you can say about a room is that it's clean, you should at least have the comfort of knowing you didn't pay much. Au contraire, we paid $175 per night. I know that it is Catalina Island, and that everywhere is really expensive, but the room was really disappointing. They need to rip out the carpets, ditch the heavy wood and chintzy bedspreads, and re-think the ornaments. This place is DYING for a face lift.

That being said, this is one of the cheaper options I think and it has some great things going for it. If you are looking to whisk your loved one away for a romantic weekend, do not book this hotel. Pay the extra bucks and stay elsewhere. However, if you just need a base from which to explore the island with friends or whatnot, this would probably be a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel

Address: 199 Chimes Tower Road, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel offers ocean view and mountain view rooms as well as sunning decks and balconies where guests can take in the spectacular views. The Pueblo Hotel also features an arrowhead shaped fresh water swimming pool surrounded by graceful gardens. The Pueblo's character is still evocative of the author's perceptions. The decor, ambiance, balconies and gardens lend themselves to a peaceful and quiet escape from the hustle and bustle of downtown Avalon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zane Grey Pueblo Avalon
Hotel Zane Grey Pueblo
Zane Grey Hotel
Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zane Grey Pueblo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.