We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really felt lucky we stayed where we did. Perfect, just perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Catalina to your Saves list
Hotel Catalina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We really felt lucky we stayed where we did. Perfect, just perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We read so many of the reviews of where to stay with our grandchildren and we could not have stayed in a better location: value, cleanliness, pleasant personel, hot tub, lockers to stow your bags so you could stay late on the beach. I recommend the premium package. All is included and it is a great deal. My grandchildren were so excited to stay there. The beds are so comfortable too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    29
    15
    13
    16
See reviews for
20
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

paid I think $120 for a small room. Had tv, fridge and dvd player. bathroom had claw tub, which was nice and huge. Only disappointment as it was "off season", the staff left and they had to manually turn on the heat and it was FREEZING!!! And the other complaint is that the jacuzzi wasn't hot, which we were REALLY looking forward to. Ah well.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Catalina island was a wonderful place. I stayed here for one night and i enjoyed my stay here at hotel catalina. The staff was very nice and friendly. Although the room was very small and conjusted , the shower was the size of someones locker it didnt bother me much. Very clean hotel . . easy to find soon as we got off the boat we could see the "HOTEL CATALINA" sign . . its right by the beach in between all the stores and resturants. The jacuzzi was nice and warm. not very private but it was OK. i would reccomend any one that is trying to save money and want a convienient stay to come to HOTEL CATALINA :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Did anyone noticed any bedbug? My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 days and when we are about to live we noticed somebites on our body. When we got home, two weeks after, bedbugs started to grow in our bedroom. It's horrible. Those bedbugs are from HOTEL CATALINA!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I expected more based on the photos online. The room was small, no air conditioning, bathroom was small and shower was rusty and moldy. The entire hotel has a strange smell? Old building I quess. Our next visit to Catalina Island will NOT be at Hotel Catalina!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The family cottage was clean, charming and fit our needs perfectly. Two bedrooms seperated by a bath allowed for privacy and front porch gave us room to stretch and take in the view. Staff was friendly and very accommodating, giving us info, coupons and a place to keep our luggage til the ferry left. Easy walking distance of 2 blocks to downtown Avalon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fontana, ca
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The best thing about the hotel was the $20 credit to Original Jack's Resturant. The staff was great on recommindations on things to do and places to eat. But they never came around to fix the clogged sink in the room. Contenential breakfast don't even bother. Many other place to stay before I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisGLBC, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
As of January 2012 we are pleased to announce that the Hotel Catalina is now under New Management. Come visit & experience our New European style Courtyard Garden Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalina 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.