We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Catalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Catalina to your Saves list
Hotel Catalina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just came back from a weekend in Avalon. Loved our stay at the Hotel Catalina. If you're looking for a big shiny resort hotel with large rooms and all the most modern accessories this is not the place for you. It is an older building that appears to be extremely well kept up. We loved the furnishings in our room - furniture, light fixtures, etc. Our bathroom was a bit tight, but the paint, linens, condition of everything in our room was extremely good. The art around the hotel is worth studying. Comfortably porches to sit outside. Most particularly the staff were excellent. All my interactions in person and over the phone with Ignacio and Nancy were superb. I've stayed in several Avalon hotels and consider the Hotel Catalina to be a good value and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
22
68
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay was a quick overnite surprise . After checking out a couple of places to stay, we decided this was a convenient place, centrally lOcated with wifi and a place to lock our bikes and holds our bags until we were ready to leave. We stayed on the patio level with no view, but we could sit on the patio/ courtyard and enjoy the foliage. I forgot my charger for my iPhone, they were kind enough to charge it 2 different times for me . (I could have come up "lost", but they were very honest and kept it for me). The room was small, but perfect to lay my head down and shower . Shower & commode were in a separate room. Sink was in bedroom. The next morning we had fresh delicious coffee & donuts. The staff was friendly and helPful and answered our questions. I would stay again , but maybe get a room with a view next time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I hadn't been back to Avalon in 19 years & had no idea of what this hotel offered. The sign on the roof clearly shows where it is in town. The walk from the boat to the hotel was o.k., not far. The short walk uphill to hotel not bad for a couple of "old ladies". The staff was friendly, gave good advice of where to find restaurants, shopping and things to do. Our room was on the 2nd floor and quite cozy, well furnished and with a partial ocean view. The veranda just outside the room was wonderful with white wicker seating, comfy with cushions. The Kona coffee served each morning downstairs - with fresh donuts - was a welcome start for the day. About the only negative was the size of the bathroom - took a little maneuvering to take a shower, but not impossible. All in all I would recommend this hotel and certainly make a return to it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room facing the street - had a good view of ocean, just outside the veranda. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went to Hotel California with my Wife to get away from the daily rush. We purchased the stay through Groupon so I'm not able to tell you anything as far as value. We enjoyed the stay and the staff was really sincere. They allowed us to leave our luggage their after check out so we wouldn't have to lug it around the island while waiting for the boats to the mainland. The room was nice and the island was fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had our wedding in Catalina on May 19th. We soldout both wings of Hotel Catalina for the weekend. Martha (the General Manager) and the Owners Jack & Nora were amazing to us. They went above and beyond in helping to make our weekend perfect. They provided us their Penthouse Owners Suite for all of our wedding activities. All of our guests were amazed with how special that suite is.

Everything was absolutely perfect. They've done an extensive Re-Model to the Courtyard Wings. Tthe rooms are amazing with Jet Hot Tubs and a Separate Shower from the Tub. All rooms have Flat Screen TVs and Blu-ray Players. Everything is inside the rooms of the Courtyard is brand new.

Martha was accomodating and helpful for all of our guests request. We had over 60 guests in the hotel and they all we're happy.

The main hotel is one of the original hotels on the island. The rooms are small and have some unqiue characteristics. However, they are kept clean with comfortable beds. The best part is they are affordable and one of the few hotels to allow One Night Stays.

I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend the Courtyward Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I booked 4 days at the Hotel Catalina over the Memorial Day Weekend with my girlfriend who had just recently graduated from Nursing School, so i wanted this to be a very special weekend. Well i called the hotel and spoke to a real live person by the name of Martha who was a very plesant person to speak to. I told her this was to be a surprise for my newly RN and she asurred me that i had nothing to worry about. To calm me down she had me call a day before arrival and speak to a Nancy or Hilda. Again, I was assured of a pleasant stay. Well to my surprise i was greeted at the boat dock with a ride to the hotel (hmmm~ off to a good start ). The hotel was obviously mantained with alot of love and care...The room was spacious and well lit and for the price it's Catalina's best well kept secret. The 4 days turned into 5.... I love Catalina and i loved the whole Hotel Catalina experience...Thank you Martha, Nancy and Hilda. We love you all !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is very accomodating to their guests, we checked in before noon, spent only one night, :( but going back next yr. Hotel decorated very victorian, clean and made me feel like a princess ... more like a bed and breakfast, they also ck'd our baggage for the day, while we shopped on the island and we went back to get luggage before boarding the express ferry. Hotel is just a short walk from the dock and this will give you time to scope out the shops, restaurants, activities while walking ... Enjoy ! (no elevator at hotel)

Room Tip: Choose the third floor, you get a good view of the ocean from up there, no elevator ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalina

Address: 129 Whittley Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalina 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Catalina is decorated in the Victorian style. Hotel Catalina combines old world elegance and charm, with all the advantages of a modern establishment. Strolling along the balustrade verandas at the front of the establishment, from sunrise to sunset you'll enjoy the refreshing sea air and splendid panorama views of the picturesque harbor. Recently remodeled in Thomasville furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel Avalon
Hotel Catalina Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Catalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.