We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of the Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luau Larry's

Luau Larry's
509 Crescent Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-1919
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
El Monte, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little bit of the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Luau Larry's is a small place but also cute. We went for my eldest daughters birthday and was able to get the little "volcano room" in the back of the place. We only got an appetizer platter and she wanted a "wiki wack" which comes with a straw island hat. Cute little place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Osseo, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shrimp and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Good food, great atmosphere, good prices. Portions were good. My husband got the fish and chips and wished he would've gotten the shrimp and chips...I got more shrimp than he got fish.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful bar tender, great portions on food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The bar tender was so accommodating, he made me a green grasshopper even though he was missing some ingredients, and it tasted awesome! Also tried a red headed $lut (shot) , which was pretty easy going down, and enjoyed an oyster shooter. The food was great for a place with such a good bar, and I'll definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

It can get noisy especially when a cruise ship is in port but the food is great and the drinks are as exotic as you want. Great place for lunch or dinner.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Party time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food was very good with huge servings. The noise level was extreme due to partiers from the cruise ship, but everyone was having a great time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luau Larry's also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Luau Larry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luau Larry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.