We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Save
You added The Old Turner Inn to your Saves list
232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

We arrived on Saturday morning and were allowed an early check-in. The room was ready to go, clean and well appointed. The host greeted us immediately and coming and going was not an issue by any means. We had snacks at 5:30 on Saturday and they were just right. The next morning had amazing food, fruit and biscuits. Far more than we expected. Check out was a breeze and she allowed us to leave our belongings in our room until we left the island. All in all a great experience and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great bed and great breakfast.
  • Disliked — There was some traffic noise due to the location of the king suite next to the road.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

We went to Catalina for a two night stay to celebrate our anniversary. We found it very comfortable and relaxing. Our room was spacious and very appealing. The Innkeeper was a gracious hostess and an excellent chef. Appetizers and the breakfast were wonderful. The Innkeeper even suprised us with a bottle of champagne in our room after dinner to celebrate with. We felt pampered and well taken care of. We thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

  • Liked — The hospitality and meals
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose one of the rooms upstairs to stay in.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

We came to Avalon to celebrate my birthday and found the "Old" Turner Inn to be the ideal place to stay. The inn is conveniently located in the central part of town yet is quiet and sheltering. We peeked into all the rooms and found them all attractive. Ours, the Seashell Room, was very comfortable and private, with wonderful natural light, a perfect king-size bed, and a large, airy bathroom. Christa, who runs the inn, and Bill Hill, who owns it, were gracious and friendly. Early morning coffee is excellent, Christa's enormous breakfasts are beautifully prepared and presented, and there was always an abundance of fresh fruit. The afternoon wine-and-appetizer hour is not to be missed, since that is the time when one can hear fascinating local lore from Christa, Bill, and their friends who have known Catalina since their childhood. They made us feel very much at home (and the appetizers were delicious). One of the old-timers, Dave, even gave us a guided tour of the neighborhood's architecture. If you're looking for comfort, quiet, good food, and cultured company, this is the place for you.


  • Liked — Comfort, atmosphere & company
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy what's there.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We went to The "Old" Turner Inn to celebrate my 50th Birthday, and had a wonderful experience. Christa, the innkeeper, was amazing. This lady can cook. Her breakfasts were to "die for". She made us feel welcome and comfortable. It was like staying in the home of a dear friend. The furnishing in our room, the Seashell, were very inviting. This room receives the morning light, and when you open the blinds, the entire room lights up. Christa's suggestions for where to eat for dinner, were spot on and very helpful. I would recommend anyone to stay at The “Old” Turner Inn in Avalon on Catalina Island, and bring your appetite!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

We stayed at the Old Turner for the weekend with another couple. It's a charming B+B a short walk to the Pier and Main Street. Christa the caretaker was pleasant but a bit cold to us. The place seems appropriate for older couples who can conform to rules that younger people wouldn't. One such rule is no food in the rooms. Being on Catalina and not carrying food is pretty difficult since the prices for restaurants are so high It's natural to go to the supermarket instead of going out to save money. I was stopped by Christa while carrying a bag of ice to my room. She reminded me of the rule, and I said it was for sodas. A place that charges $250ish a night and has such a strict caretaker is not a place I would return to. The Old Turner Inn is fine for older folks, the rooms are small but comfortable and the breakfast is excellent, but I wouldn't recommend it for younger people.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

I agree with the first post about the inn's accomdations. Yes, the rooms and innkeeper are very nce. However, what they dont tell you is also important. Most people looking at a B& B vs. hotel are paying for the "experience". Well, the experience at the Old Turner is lacking. There is a tourist bus depot and city yard across the street. The noise was almost unbearable. If you are a heavy sleeper then, it might be OK. However, for my $$, I recommend staying at one of the rental houses a street or two off the main drag. Too bad, because it does have some aesthetic charm.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Owner at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2009
This review was written in the summer of 2005, since then we have added air conditioning units to the 2 suites that face Catalina Ave. With the units in place, guests can leave their front windows shut - and we have not had any noise complaints since.
While there is a tourist bus depot across Catalina Ave., it is NOT directly across the street, but rather across the street and down about 300 yards, and the first bus tour departs at 9am (Summer) and 11:45am the rest of the year. Also, there is not a City Yard across the street, but rather a parking area that the Catalina Island Conservancy uses to park their cars. There is a small freight office directly across the street that does use trucks, but they are closed on weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2004

Beautiful post Thanksgiving holiday weekend. The King Suite is spacious, light and warm with a nice wood burning fireplace and lots of hot water. Afternoon hors d’oeuvres with wine in front of the down stairs fireplace is a great place to chat with the innkeeper and fellow guests. Breakfast is served a little late for my taste, but was delicious. Christa was our weekend innkeeper and she is a gracious host (ask about the USC football games!). We are B&B groupies and will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.