We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Save
You added The Old Turner Inn to your Saves list
232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My new husband and I came here for our week long Honeymoon in the Queen Suite.This Bed and Breakfast was an excellent place to stay. Kathleen (the hostess) is the sweetest person you can meet, and she has tons of stories to tell. Ask her where the best places to eat are and she'll tell you. Her breakfasts are delicious and filling every morning. She does a small appetizer and wine/champagne in the early evening which is a great way to meet some of the other guests staying in the house as well. You are walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, and pier. You're right across the street from the mini golf course which is a fun trip. The rooms are all very open and have a homey feeling to it. There is not one negative aspect to this place. Give it a go, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reno
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Although inn is older, the inn keeper is very nice and makes stay pleasant, warm. Daily breakfast, easy walking distance from pier. Bring good shoes, you need to walk everywhere or rent $40/h golf cart, or pay taxi same for few minutes drive. Best to be a high functioning walking person to visit catalina. This place is charming.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spent three wonderful nights at the Old Turner Inn. The Inn is charming and Kathleen is a gracious hostess. She offered recommendations for restaurants and activities and was more than accommodating to my personal wants. My room had a fireplace, which was a nice touch and warmed the cool evenings. The location is a short walk from the beach, ferry and center of Avalon. Great breakfasts and evening wine and cheese. I couldn't have been more satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I went here with my girlfriend on a weekend during the off season and chose this place for the excellent reviews. It lived up to expectations, with a very friendly inn keeper Kathleen making the stay extremely pleasant. The inn and room was very cozy and clean. The evening appetizers and wine was a nice touch, and breakfast the next morning was delicious. The location was very central but not too close to the main street so we weren't bothered by motorized golf carts at night.

Overall great stay and I highly recommend the Old Turner Inn!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Old Turner Inn is a beautiful, old-fashioned Bed and Breakfast. We had the place to ourselves (since January is a slow time of year for Catalina) which was great. We worked on a puzzle in the living room, made tea for ourselves, and I played the gorgeous grand-piano which belonged to the owner's grandmother. Before bed, we watched a bit of a movie from the Inn's supply of DVD's. We slept like babies. In the morning, Kathleen made us a truly exceptional breakfast of baked eggs, fruit, and home-made granola. We chatted with her for about a half hour about the history of this unique island, which her family has been coming to for more than 100 years. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed 6 days at the Old Turner Inn and it was wonderful. The location is an easy walk from the ferry dock and they are centrally located so easy walking to restaurants and island amenities.
Kathleen and Krista were wonderful and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The rooms are all nice and the real fireplaces in each room are a nice touch. They provided the easy to light wood and we had a romantic fire going every evening. The breakfast each morning was first class. We will absolutely rebook with them when we revisit Catalina!

Room Tip: The King and Queen are quite spacious but all of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fork, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is one of the best bed and breakfasts on the west coast! I have visited a lot of b & bs in California and the west. The owners are an important part of the island's history and ambiance. The manager is a delight to be around. I love the food and happy hour. The location is easy walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Amazing!

Room Tip: I love the room on the first floor with no adjoining rooms. It is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the beach and Green Pier, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious warm breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.