We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Gazing and beautiful music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Save
You added The Old Turner Inn to your Saves list
232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
garnet valley, PA
1 review
“Star Gazing and beautiful music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just spent three wonderful evening at the Old Turner Inn. Great location with fireplace and free rental of movies. Kathleen Hill and her wonderful family have a great sense of history of living on beautiful Catalina Island since 1890 when it was a tent colony. This was our first visit to the island and we felt as if we were staying with friends whom we had just meet them. We came back from dinner at Steve's that Kathleen recommended and she invited us to look at the stars with her telescope outside...not normally what you may expect but awesome. There is a piano in the living room and one of the guests who stayed -Dan played beautiful music during the Happy Hour they have each evening. Her Mom and Dad came to visit at the Happy hour one night when we learned many more interesting family stories.

We stayed in the seashell room which had many windows and nice big bathroom with good shower. Very comfortable bed and so peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast was a wonderful experience and Kathleen had hot coffee and even made breakfast a little earlier for us two mornings in a row to keep us on track with our many excursions on the island. Anything we needed our host provided. I had a few groceries that she let us use some space in the fridge so like I said... felt like I was staying at a friend's house. What a wonderful place to come and be carefree!! Would urge you to only stay here. We had a magical time!!! I can not wait to visit another time!!

Room Tip: If you like a larger bathroom get the seashell room which in the back so nice and quiet. It is not o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just spent an evening at the Old Turner Inn and I could not have been more pleased with the experience (this is coming from a guy that would normally NEVER choose a B&B). From the moment we made the reservation it was a breeze. It is a quick walk to the property which is centrally located only a block or so from restaurants, shops and bars. The owners provided any help we needed and the Happy Hour was fun. We had a room at the back of the property (Wicker Room) which was very clean and a SUPER comfortable bed. If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax for a day or a weekend, check the Old Turner out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent two relaxing nights at the Old Turner Inn, and would recommend it to anyone, regardless of age. The quaint, cozy atmosphere and the impeccably clean accommodations were top notch. The location is also a plus--walking distance from everything. The 5:00 PM beverages and appetizers were a nice touch not often seen at other B & B's. Breakfasts both mornings were wonderful. We felt almost as if we had our own vacation home on the island during the day, but Kathleen was around just enough to help us with suggestions for restaurants and activities and how to find them. We thoroughly enjoyed everything she recommended.

Room Tip: The king and queen suites are on the 2nd floor with a closed in porch that overlooks the street, giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just returned from a one-night stay at the Old Turner Inn and had a lovely time. The inn is run by extremely friendly and helpful people, which we noticed from the very first phone call we made to reserve our room. It's a perfect location and really does feel like staying in your own comfortable home away from home. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and we appreciated the wood-burning fireplace on the one cold and rainy night they probably get all year. Would recommend to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A special get away treat for the holidays. This family owned and operated B&B is wonderful, cozy, friendly, spotless and reminiscent of old Catalina. It's located within blocks of the landing
boat docks, shop and restaurants. Remember no cars * walk every where! Delightful. Meet and greet at 6pm with owners and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. We loved it and will return for sure! Enjoy- you'll love it. Peggy Ann Oliver

Room Tip: Pack light and stairs to rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our family took all five rooms at the Inn. It was the perfect place. It was comfortable, nicely furnished, and Kathleen, the Innkeeper, was very helpful. She and her family have ties to the island going back to the early 1900s. The happy hour was nice (wine and appetizers) and the breakfast the next morning was great. They make their own granola and it's fantastic. Kathleen let us leave our bags there after we checked out so we could walk around town until the boat came. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Seashell room which was comfortable and had a nice fireplace. Cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is our second stay here at the inn. No words to describe how nice and clean this place really is. We stayed in the King Room this time; spacious, cozy, sunny...yes, has a real fireplace. All the innkeepers are helpful, nice, and they make you feel welcome.

Breakfasts are delightful, food and atmosphere is awesome. Don't forget to try the granola.

Thank you Christa, Kathleen, and Gina ! ! ! We'll see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is nothing like the staying at The Old Turner Inn. You'll feel connected to the Island by being hosted by a family that has had roots here since 1878. Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the waterfront, beaches, shops & restaurants, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious hot breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a unique, romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.