We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, homey, and excellent breakfasts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Save
You added The Old Turner Inn to your Saves list
232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfy, homey, and excellent breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Old Turner Inn is a very nice place to stay for those looking for a homey, laid-back inn in Avalon. The Inn is also a great affordable option for those who don't need to be right on the beach, but can enjoy a short walk to get there. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon, and found it a comfortable place to unwind from the last few days of busyness.
Both Christa and Kathleen were excellent hosts, and gave us helpful suggestions regarding restaurants and activities on the island. We briefly met the Inn's owners who explained to us the history behind some of the photographs adorning the sitting room, and made sure we had postcards to send to our families. The breakfasts were very good. I had one of the best quiches I've ever had one morning when Christa was hosting.
We stayed in the Wicker Room, which was bright and pretty, with pink walls and honey-colored wicker furniture. This room is a bit small, but was comfortable. I couldn't help but peek into the larger suites (Queen, King, and Seashell), which looked clean and airy. If I return to visit Avalon again, I would stay at the Old Turner again, possibly in the Seashell room.

Room Tip: Many visitors stay for just a couple of nights, so if you plan to stay longer, make your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend took me on my first trip to Catalina, and due to our schedule (we had a concert that Friday night in LA), it was almost impossible to find lodging for one night during the island's peak season. Luckily, he found the Old Turner Inn.

This B&B is located literally steps away from the main street in town, which makes it super convenient...it's far enough away that there are no tourists loitering underfoot, but close enough to easily run back and forth when your plans change/you forget something.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Christa allowed us to leave our bags with the Inn (and even check in a tad early) due to our schedule. Kathleen was very outgoing and gave good (and honest) restaurant recommendations.

The complimentary appetizers and wine were nice and afforded us an opportunity to socialize with the other guests (and even the sweet owners, who regaled us with tales of their past). Breakfast in the morning was delicious as well (homemade cinnamon granola!) and a welcome break from paying island cafe prices.

The only thing keeping me from giving the Old Turner Inn 5 stars is simply that it is not a 5 star property. It is a quaint, small bed & breakfast through and through...the decor is eclectic and shows its age, and is typical of a small maritime inn. For some this is exactly that for which what they are looking; others may find it less appealing.

We stayed in the Wicker Room, which had tons of light and yet seemed constantly pleasant as far as temperature was concerned (we were pleasantly surprised to find a ceiling fan as well as working floor fans and bathroom vent). Our bathroom tub drained slowly, but that is to be expected in a home of its age.

On a side note: it is very sad that this must be added, but I feel it's important to mention that my boyfriend and I were a little trepidatious in booking a small home inn without knowing any of their feelings about LGBT guests. Any fears were put to shame by the warmth and kindness of the staff and guests. We felt welcome the entire time, and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our comfort and enjoyment of the island.

We would definitely stay at the Old Turner Inn on another trip to Avalon.

Room Tip: Wicker Room is quiet and bright. We also saw King and Queen Suites, which have a separate ante-room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My sister and I recently stayed two nights at the Old Turner Inn, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves there. We had the first floor Garden Room, which is quiet, cosy, and clean as a whistle! We arrived on an unusually hot, muggy day, and innkeeper Kathleen made my day by providing an extra fan for my bedside. Very grateful! This is an example of the extra nice treatment you will get at this B&B. Kathleen also sat down with us and recommended good restaurants and sites to see. We had a tour of the coves of the island in her husband's boat that afternoon, and we think Capt. Dave is fantastic too. Don't miss his refreshing boat tour. You'll have a delicious hot breakfast to start your day, featuring lots of fruit and her yummy homemade granola, plus a hot egg dish. She even offered to put my damp bathing suit in the dryer for me. You can't go wrong in this lovely home, full of beautiful art featuring scenes around the island, and a history all its own. Great location, easy walk to everything, and we even were encouraged to borrow towels, and beach chairs for our afternoon swim, Catalina style, at the nearby beach. There are books everywhere, comfy furniture to relax on, sherry on the mantle in the bedroom. Ice and cold or hot drinks available all day long, and you can put your suitcase under the grand piano if your check out time is earlier than your boat departure.

Room Tip: The Seashell room felt the coolest, with nice sea breezes. But we had the ground floor Garden Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Old Turner Inn has several things going for it. First, it's easy to walk to from the Catalina Express ferry dock, even with rolling luggage. Don't even bother with the trolley or any other paid conveyance. It would be a waste of time. Second, the place is very homey and is run by a charming German woman who is very outgoing and pleasant. One very nice touch was the decanter of sherry and two aperitif glasses that awaited us on the mantel in our room when we arrived. Most of the people there were repeat customers from years back. And finally, the quirky miniature golf course is right out the front door. We stayed in the Garden Room, which seems at first to be located in an inconvenient spot between the kitchen and the living room, but this turned out not to be a problem at all. enjoyed our two days at the Old Turner Inn and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Old Turner Inn, in the King Suite, two summers in a row and we're planning on returning. It just doesn't get better than this place. The location is perfect, centrally located, but not in the noisiest area. Everything is an easy walk. The inn is very quaint. It has a lot of charm and history, which the innkeepers are happy to share. The staff is very helpful, kind, and genuine. Breakfast and happy hour are delicious and delightful events and we've enjoyed meeting the other guests. We have learned, no surprise, that they have many regular guests. We also met a few locals who told us when they don't have room in their homes for visitors, they send them to The Old Turner Inn. Again, no surprise. We highly recommend this fantastic bed and breakfast and would never consider staying anywhere else in Avalon.

Room Tip: The King Suite is very spacious and has a nice separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Absolutely the best...I have gone back 3 times and will continue to return again and again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Ww were in town for a family reunion and our post was the Turner Inn. I have to thank my sister for putting us up here. It was a great place to stay and the breakfast got us going every morning. All the guest were great as we sat around chatting at breakfast and in the afternoon.
I would and hope to come back soon. It is great to know there is a place like this to get away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the beach and Green Pier, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious warm breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.