We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and T.L.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Turner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Turner Inn
Save
You added The Old Turner Inn to your Saves list
232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfort and T.L.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Inn is an easy, quarter-mile walk from the dock for the Catalina Express, and every service that we needed was within a few flat blocks. I was constantly struck by how safe I felt at the Inn and on the island in general. The staff and the neighbors look out for Inn guests and for one another.

Innkeeper Christa runs the place with great competence and graciousness, and her recommendations for us were spot-on. Realizing that we were avoiding organized tours and wanting us not to leave the island before seeing more than the Avalon area, she proposed that we take the airport shuttle. It was a comfortable ride (not hot, bumpy or dusty) in the same van that the airport workers use to get to and from work. We saw some gorgeous scenery and a bison, got a good feeling for the island as a whole, and enjoyed the exhibits and lunch at the top. It was a memorable experience that we would not have had without Christa’s gentle nudging.

Knowing the expense and difficulties of transporting produce and other items from the mainland to Catalina, I was pleasantly surprised that the fruit platters every morning had items like mangoes, kiwis, blueberries, and raspberries - all artistically arranged. Another healthful breakfast option was the house-made granola, which the Inn has available for sale. As soon as I tasted it, I knew that I’d be buying some to take home.

When I saw other tourists waiting at stops for shuttles to and from their rooms elsewhere on Catalina, I was happy that I could easily access my comfortable Inn room at any time. My husband and I enjoyed all the other guests and the staff, and were happy to have the Old Turner Inn as a home-away-from-home for a week.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs would be quieter than the one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time - and that you made the trip into the interior of the Island. Catalina Island Granola is our specialty - and we are glad that you enjoyed it! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had the joy of going to Catalina for Mothers Day and happen upon the Old Turner Inn. A pleasure to stay at and a great comfortable home base to explore the Island. The clean and comfortable rooms, cosy living room and great breakfast were more than what we expected (even after having read many good reviews). We were entertained by the owners and other guests and had a great time. I hope to be able to return very soon. Note that the other guests were all regulars, which tells me the good service, and comfortable setting is consistent. It's right down by the docks so easy walking distance to everything. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We appreciate the great review - thank you! I think that socializing with other guests at appetizer time is one of the highlights of many guest's stay here. So glad you enjoyed it. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARLSBAD
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The Old Turner Inn is the place to stay while visiting Catalina Island. It's location is off the main street, but close enough that one can walk to nearly all of the restaurants and activities. As soon as you arrive, the staff makes you feel like an old " best friend". They make sure that all of your needs are covered plus provide additional information about local events, places to visit and things to do. The rooms and entire Inn are furnished in antique style and immaculately maintained. The breakfasts served were the best that I've experienced in travels throughout the globe. This is our place to stay when in Catalina. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Only five rooms Reserve early. The two suites have a neat seeting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Larry, thank you for the stellar review! It was wonderful to meet you, too. We look forward to your next visit. The family antiques and historic heirlooms are a pride of ours, so fun to share them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Old Turner Inn is a beautiful B&B just a few blocks from all the shops and restaurants in Avalon. It's location allows for more peace and quiet, yet it's only a short walk away from all the activities in Avalon. We were only able to stay one night, and Kathleen was able to accommodate us nicely. We were able to check-in early and check-out late. My wife and I stayed in the lovely Queen Suite, which has a very comfortable bed and a wonderful enclosed front balcony/day area. The wine and cheese social in the evening was fabulous, as well as the breakfast the following morning (great home-made granola). We will definitely be back, and we could not imagine staying anywhere else in Avalon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review! It was fun having you here, and glad that we could work out the dates. And so glad that you liked our Catalina Island Granola. We sell it online, you know :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Cal.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This B & B is a great find and the good reviews are definitely warranted. Guests are made so welcome, it's easy to imagine you are staying with friends. The wine & hors d'oeuvres hour at 5pm is a nice time to get to know what's going on in Avalon and to mix with other guests. The location is perfect, just a short walk from everything. Lots of thought has been put into providing every convenience - hot & cold drinks available all day by the lounge; hairdryer & umbrellas; stacks of local information. No sign of sherry during our visit, but The Old Turner Inn is a very friendly place and we'd stay again any time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the inn are the quietest, offering a good night's rest and an escape from t...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - and sorry you missed the sherry, and oversight on our part as we try to keep it and a bowl of candy in each room. We look forward to your next visit to Catalina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This old home is quite beautiful, nicely furnished with antiques, paintings and photographs of local scenes and a beautiful old piano.The owners, Gina and Kathleen make you feel welcome at once. Kathleen is a great cook making a superb full breakfast each morning. My wife and I love to read and take long walks so this was right up our alley. Very peaceful. The bed was so comfortable and the room has a good size TV screen with DVD player- free DVDs supplied in the common area- (although a nice afternoon or evening of quiet reading is my preference) and a fireplace to boot! We stayed in the King Suite and the day room came in handy for my quiet late night reading times. It is a short walk to almost anything in Avalon with plenty of diversions from parasailing and scuba diving to bus tours. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will surely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
So wonderful to have you here, and thank you for the awesome review! Did I tell you that the baby Steinway was my grandmothers, and one of the original built by Steinway & Sons on Long Island. She used to play it daily, and it's such a joy when guests sit down and play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I just returned from Avalon on Catalina Island and we stayed in a beautiful Bed and Breakfast called the Old Turner Inn. We spent 3 nights in the Queen Room and it was heavenly. The room was decorated sooo prettily with lovely lace curtains. It had a beautiful attached sun porch which overlooked the city of Avalon. The room was quiet and cozy...with a beautiful fireplace. I slept so soundly every night and woke up each morning so refreshed. The sun porch with it's daybed and 2 rocking chairs was a wonderful soothing place to curl up with a good book. The location of the inn was fantastic...it's just a block or so off the main street of shops so it's very calm and quiet, but we had great walking access to the heart of Avalon and the ocean. The breakfasts were sooo scrumptious and we were treated to a different entree every morning along with yogurt and the homemade granola for which the Old Turner Inn is famous. The afternoon appetizers were also yummy! Our time at the Inn was so relaxing and rejuvenating. Every detail was attended too. Our host was gracious and her hospitality made us feel so welcome and right at home. I cannot wait to go back to Catalina...and when I do, I will definitely be booking a reservation at the Old Turner Inn in the Queen Room.

Room Tip: I took a peek in each room and they were all lovely...you really couldn't go wrong with any of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldTurnerInn, Manager at The Old Turner Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Wonderful! Thank you for such a stellar review. We love making a different main egg dish each morning - for the variety. And we are so glad that you liked our Catalina Island Granola - you know , we sell it online :) We get a lot of compliments about our new mattresses - glad that you had a good nights sleep in the Queen Suite. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Turner Inn

Address: 232 Catalina Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Avalon, just one short block from the beach and Green Pier, this immaculately kept Cape Cod structure reveals a balance of comfort and elegance to its guests. Sunny sitting porches, in-room fireplaces, private bathrooms, antiques, gallery quality artwork of Catalina scenes, historic family photos, and a grand piano combined with our full, scrumptious warm breakfast and friendly staff... Together, they set the mood for a romantic and relaxing Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Turner Hotel Avalon
The Old Turner Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Turner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.