We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Save
You added Hotel Vista Del Mar to your Saves list
417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

My opinion: Beautiful & convenient. Rest assured you are getting a quality hotel at Vista Del Mar. Perfect for couples. I am quite discriminating & did a lot of research before booking my hotel in Avalon. I didn't want to overpay, but I wanted something worthy of a romantic weekend. This was the place.

If you care to read further, I'll tell you more.

I was looking for a nice place to stay on Catalina, specifically for an anniversary. I was initially interested in the Snug Harbor Inn (owned by the same people as Vista Del Mar) however they were booked. I ended up reserving a courtyard room.

From what I have gathered, many hotels in Catalina aren't maintained exceptionally well and I was afraid of this. I decided to go with the Vista Del Mar, and I have to say, I was very impressed. It is on the third floor of a harbor-front historic building, with a beautiful greenhouse-like atrium hallway leading to all the rooms. Rooms had a fireplace, wet bar, desk area, comfortable beds, very clean facilities and plenting of seating.

The location of the hotel is great too. You are in the middle of everything. If you aren't sure what to do on a saturday night, I'd reccomend having a late dinner at "El Gallileon" restaurant next door & experiencing the Karaoke. It was a 30 something crowd when we went, so there were plenty of obscure hits from the 80's.

I hope you have fun in Catalina.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    63
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
242
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2005

We have just returned from a weekend at the Hotel Vista Del Mar , The hotel was beautiful with a warm and friendly atmosphere and i found all the staff to be friendly and accomadating, the room was wonderful with it's own balcony with a superb view of the bay and i especially liked the huge jaccuzi tub, When we returned after an evening out we were greated to fresh baked cookies still warm from the oven which i thought was a lovely touch, all in all i had a really great time and would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for lovely rooms and great service!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

Overpriced, rooms in desparate need of a remodel. Hair in tub and used soap in dish. I have stayed here many times in the past and have watched this place go downhill. They can not even keep uniform staff, new people every time I stay. Past staff were so friendly and one reason I return to this hotel (Dawn and Denise were very customer service oriented at past stays, but no where to be seen this time). This time the staff seemed very unhappy, even rude. The breakfast was hardly edible, spoiled cream for the coffee and watered down orange juice. I probaby won't return to this hotel again and would not recommend it to others. What's going on over there??

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

Was pleasantly surprised at hotel. Checked in early and room was ready. Had Courtyard Deluxe which was a large room with sitting area and table/chairs too. Fireplace was nice and bath was large with separate sink/vanity area. Staff was nice and evening cookies/milk were good too. Location was great (on beach) and convenient to all shops/restaurants. Overall pleased with hotel and room since Snug Harbor was booked which was our first choice. You can stay at a nicer place for sure but be willing to fork out a lot more money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2005

We stayed in the Courtyard Deluxe Room, which was clean but the Decor not so great, the bed not very comfortable and it could definitely use some new bedspreads (ours was scratchy and unsightly). The courtyard is definitely cute but not special. And the Costco-muffins for the continental breakfast didn't impress much either. Great location but you can't really go wrong with location in Catalina. It seems like most of the money was put into Snug Harbor Inn, which is owned by the same person.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.