We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Save
You added Hotel Vista Del Mar to your Saves list
417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

On April 8-10 we took our first family trip to Catalina Island. Hotel Check-in time was at 3pm but we decided to take the ferry that arrived at 11:15. It was about a 10 min walk from the ferry to the hotel. We went to drop off our luggage so they could hold it for us but there was no need because our room was ready for us, WOW!!! We all loved the cozy, clean and beautiful deluxe room we stayed in. This hotel has you covered even to the smallest details that you won't find in other hotels. The cookies and milk offered at night were a wonderful touch and a delicious treat that we enjoyed. We also took advantage of their DVD library offered at no extra charge. The view from the balcony is Amazing! Hotel Vista del Mar is a few steps away from the beach, the green pier, restaurants and stores. Now, the staff is super nice and helpful, they rapidly attended every request we had, thank you all. A special thanks to Mr. Juan for answering every single question that I had (which were a ton) during our family reservation :) We most definitely will stay in this hotel again and again.... and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    63
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
83
242
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I went for the first time to Catalina Island together this past weekend. We stayed at Vista del Mar with our 8 month old baby. The room was beautiful and perfect for the baby. The room was clean and modern. We really took advantage of the bar area since it had a small sink, we were able to wash all my son's bottles and toys. They also provided a play yard which came out to be very useful. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent customer service. The only inconvenience we had was that the hotel is located on a third floor and there is no elevator. We had to go up and down the stairs quite a bit with the stroller. But that was part of the traveling experience in Catalina. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay in the future again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I don't even know where to start!! When I paid for the hotel in advance I thought it was a bit pricey but once we got there totally worth it! The night Manager went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. ALL the staff treated us with the best service we have ever had at a hotel. If we ever go back and visit Catalina Island I know where we are staying.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Lovely hotel, central to restaurants and shops. Nice clean room with fireplace, very cozy. A birthday treat for me from my husband. The hotel had a birthday surprise in the room at check-in.
Staff very courteous and helpful. Very nice, will definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I could imagine every room at this hotel was a good room. If you want a view of the ocean you may n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We just left the Hotel Vista Del Mar and everything about this small botique hotel was amazing! The hotel is a very short walk from the ferry terminal and the location is perfectly located in the center of Avalon.
Our room was a courtyard King suite and spotlessly cleaned and very comfortable! My wife and I felt so relaxed during our stay that we did not want to leave. If you are looking for a perfect get away to Catalina, you will not be disappointed with this amazing hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was good, cookies at night were a special treat. They had movies you could borrow, nice touch. Rooms are beautiful. Fireplace, awesome. It was great that they held your luggage for you before your check in and after your check out times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My teen daughter and I stayed at the Vista Del Mar for the better part of a week. The room was spacious, modern yet cozy, with a fireplace that certainly added the perfect amount of warmth to the chilly evenings. (The fact that the bathroom had no door, though, was a bit of a surprise, and was the only down note on an otherwise perfect setting.)

The continental breakfasts were wonderful. My daughter raved about the cookies and milk at night, and I certainly appreciated the hot cider that was available all day long. The free DVD collection was also a bonus.

The hotel is perfected located! Right on the main pedestrian drag, across from the beach, with a great view of the harbor. Being above Steve's Steakhouse was a plus! Overall, a lovely, lovely place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslanderAvalon, Owner at Hotel Vista Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Sylvie:

Thank you very much for all your wonderful compliments. This response is only to help clarify for others reading this your statement that "the bathroom had no door" . All of our bathrooms have doors. We designed the bathroom as two rooms. One is the shower and toilet room, with a door. The other is our skylighted sink and dressing area which has an opening into the main bedroom area. This allows dual use of the sink and dressing area if the other part of the bathroom is being used.

We do appreciate your input and positive comments since we are always trying to exceed the guest expectation.

Sincerely,

Jerry Dunn
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#4 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, air conditioning, beach mats and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.