We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Save
You added Hotel Vista Del Mar to your Saves list
417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Favorites!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just spent our 25th anniversary in a their waterfront suite #102. The location is ideal, directly on Avalon bay and the suite was exceptional. Private balcony, big soaking tub, great bed, fireplace, huge windows, binoculars - nothing is overlooked. They even had a bottle of champagne and balloons waiting in the room for our arrival with a note of congratulations and the room was ready for us at 11am. We ate at the RESTURANT directly below - great meal and had the perfect anniversary experience. Also, it was surprisingly quiet in the morning even though we were on the main drag. If you have a special occasion, this is the place to go!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    58
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
222
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I agree with the next three reviews: lovely facility, amazingly clean, friendly service, convenient location and it's wonderful to enjoy the ocean view while eating the continental breakfast. I thought "ugh, third floor" but it's actually brilliant because the plant filled corridor is so airy you're semi-outdoors and being on the top floor affords fabulous views of the harbor and activity on the main street. There's a beautiful aquarium in the lobby and friendly touches throughout. I expect we'll return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Everything about our experience here was perfect - beyond lovely service (above & beyond!), a beautiful room (with a crib for the baby), amazing views of the ocean, nice breakfast, milk & cookies (chocolate chip, served warm!), DVDs to borrow... just perfect. I wish we'd had a second night!

The hotel is small - I think there are only two ocean view rooms (which are probably worth the expense - view from your private balcony), the rest I think are all courtyard rooms and they are beautiful! Beautifully decorated, modern furniture, cosy bed with plenty of pillows, a fireplace, a TV with cable, bathrobes, great hot shower.

Really highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Everything is perfect here. The beautiful garden in the hall way, nice bed, comfortable pillows, firewall, and the best location right on the main street. It's a small hotel but it's definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a well thought out hotel, very comfortable beds and pillows. Friendly staff--all shifts equally happy to assist. The continental breakfast is simple, but sufficient and you can take a tray to your room or enjoy it in the lobby area overlooking the harbor. The small 14 room hotel is in a perfect location. The decor, finishes and amenities are high quality without the arrogance of some major brand hotels. A surprisingly very well lit room--you can control the lighting from dim to very well lit. A beautiful gas fireplace, comfortable beds-- even the pull out bed was one of the most comfortable of pull out beds. Small bathrooms. There is a narrow stairway to reach the hotel, but the staff advises you of this when you make the reservation and even offers assistance if required to bring up the luggage. Great hotel! Very clean.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms open up to a "hallway", naturally vented covered courtyard. Very pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

With a little help from other reviews on Tripadvisor and then pretty much a random pick (most of the reviews from the other hotels were good as well) I chose Hotel Vista Del Mar and it was the right choice. Lovely room overlooking the beach and harbor. as an anniversary trip we could not have asked for anything better. The staff was nice, the hotel was pristine, and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I travel for a living, and have to say this has been my favorite hotel I've stayed in. The rooms were absolutely beautiful, clean, and I especially enjoyed the fireplaces in each room. Most beautiful showers, looked brand new, and the bed and foldout bed were super comfy. The fold outs have memory foam, and way more comfortable than my own bed at home. As you walk out of the rooms, the atrium area was stunning. gorgeous plants and flowers everywhere. Also the hotel has a spectacular ocean view, that I enjoyed every evening with a glass of the hotels delicious signature wine, which is for purchase at a great price at the front desk. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and co-workers.You won't be disappointed. Also it is located in the center of town, so that is another plus.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, luxury bath robes, air conditioning, beach towels and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.