We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vista Del Mar
Save
You added Hotel Vista Del Mar to your Saves list
417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fall Favorites!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had the best vacation we have ever had. Staying at the hotel was like being at a 5 star hotel in Greece! Everything from the robes, to the warm cookies in the evening, and the Continental breakfast in the morning made the trip fantastic! Sitting on the veranda and looking at the ocean is a bonus! The rooms are immaculate, and they all have big screen T.V.'s and fireplaces! The staff was very helpful when needed. They booked our zip line tour for us too. That was a blast! We are going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    58
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
71
221
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SOCAL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I spent the fourth of July weekend at Hotel Vista Del Mar. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, from the super comfortable bed and relaxing atmosphere to the evening cookies and milk, and the friendly staff that was helpful and welcoming. The prime location of the hotel makes it easy to walk anywhere in Avalon, and the balcony is a great place to unwind after a busy day. We look forward to next year- if not sooner!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Well let me tell you, this hotel was one of the best hotels on the island. Not only is the hotel located 5mins away from the ferry station, but it's also located right in front of the beach. The rooms were beautiful and all were nice. We had the pleasure of staying in the Avalon suite and it was super nice and spacious. The staff was lovely. Everyone in the hotel was nice and helpful. The hotel is actually located right above the steves steakhouse. There is also an ice cream shop located below steves steakhouse and a clothing store (which is a part of the hotel). At 8pm every night the staff puts out chocolate cookies and milk for guest and OMG! Let me tell you that is the greatest smell to go to sleep to. The DVD rentals and beach towels and chairs are free for guest use. The hotel even has some wine to choose from. Next time we go on a vacation we will definetly stay at the Hotel Del Mar. Thanks for everything. Rosalyn M Little.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We went with our 2 teenagers for the 4th of July, for 5 days and had such an amazing time! The hotel is so beautiful. We stayed in an ocean front room and the views were breathtaking! The beds and linens are so luxurious, we felt pampered and spoiled! We thought 5 days might be too much on Catalina, but it wasn't. It was so much fun and so relaxing. The kids were able to have freedom to explore and we were able to sit on our balcony and watch them on the beach right in front of us. It was perfect! We will definitely go back next year! Great hotel and location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

One of the great things about this hotel is that it's right in the heart of Avalon, right on the waterfront - but the rooms are above it all - along a balcony breezeway with awesome views. In the mornings you can just chill and watch the world come alive, and at night you can people watch all you want.

It's not the least expensive place I've stayed but I really like the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is an awesome hotel with super friendly staff. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and very clean with large flat screen TV and Jacuzzi tub. The courtyard and views are breathtakingly beautiful.

Hotel Vista Del Mar in the heart of Avalon and walking distance to the pier, restaurants, and exciting excursions. The staff was very helpful, researched availability, and booked our reservations (Parasailing & Submarine tour).

My daughter loved the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies and milk that the hotel staff serves every evening.

We already booked our trip for next year! Next time its zip lining and an off-road adventure tour for us.

Thank you Hotel Vista Del Mar and staff for making our getaway the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

The Hotel Vista Del Mar is the best hotel on the island. The rooms are beautiful and come complete with hi-end beds, flat panel tv's and satellite programming. You probably won't spend too much time in the room due to the spactacular view of the entire harbor from the hotel balcony. The staff was really great laying out yummy breakfast in the morning and hot chocolate chip cookies at night. I have recommended the Vista Del Mar Hotel to all my friends and they loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Del Mar

Address: 417 Crescent Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Mar is located on the beach, overlooking Avalon Bay, with rooms featuring: ocean views, jetted tub, continental breakfast, milk and cookies each evening, HDTV, DirecTV, DVD / Blu-Ray Player, complimentary Blu-Ray and DVD library, fireplace, wet bar with refrigerator, complimentary high-speed wireless internet, luxury bath robes, air conditioning, beach towels and beach chairs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Avalon
Vista Del Mar Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Mar Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.