We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Catalina Escape Package
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We stayed at Pavilion for 3 nights and service was excellent, we payed for the unlimited package which included the round trip on boat, and tours. It is an excellent choice, since you have several options for tours and can take them as many times as you want, as well as tickets for the mini golf which we visited 3 times.
Location is excellent, you can get to the hotel by walking and it is just in the middle of everything.
Breakfast is pretty good and it is also included, and they also have wine and cheese every afternoon at 4 at no charge
We had to stay an extra night because all boats were cancelled due to bad weather, the hotel staff was great and they offered a special price for the extra night because of what happened, we only paid 40 dlls and were also able to have tickets for the tours

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    165
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
188
345
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

We booked online based on reviews. We got an excellent rate. Upon arrival from the ferry, the Pavilion Hotel is a short walk, even with several bags. The hotel has been updated and the staff is very personable. They have a boutique feel. Comfortable lounge chairs to relax in courtyard. They have a firepit with chairs for conversation, wine and cheese at 4, beautiful club house where they serve both breakfast and the wine at 4. Many extras with free internet, luggage hold after check out. The ferry we were on did not arrive til 4:15pm, and check out is at 11 am. Had it been warmer we may have laid on the beach or gone for a swim. At the Pavilion they have showers and a restroom one may use even after check out. This hotel is all about customer service. This is a great find. Easy to walk around the town to shop and or eat, also a nice stroll to the Opera House. Great find.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I absolutely loved this place, superb sheets and amenities, breakfast (not some bad Costco pastries) including Pete's coffee, mangoes, melon, cereal, tea, juice, good pastries, bagels, toast, etc, wine and cheese at 4 (generous pours), friendly staff, tours booked easily and sometimes included, common room with candy jars, scrabble, books and comfortable chairs and tables for hanging out, outside fire pit with comfy chairs to relax and gaze at the sky, large bathroom dressing area in room, DVD library and IPad check out! Very convenient step off of the ferry and walk about one block to hotel. Going back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This newly remodeled, perfectly located Lodge in beautiful Avalon, Catalina Island was a true find. We stay on the island almost yearly for the annual bay clean-up SCUBA event. While searching for the never ending quest for a great place to stay, we decided to try the Pavillion Lodge because of it's great reviews on this site and competitive rates.
We were not disappointed! This was our favorite visit so far "26 miles across the sea to the island of romance"
The Manager's reception was a highlight .....we felt so lucky to be able to enjoy the very generous pours of wine in such a great setting.
Rooms are very comfortable.
Public areas are lovely, welcoming and spacious.
Altogether an AAA+++ rating.

PS Lobster Trap for dinner and El GAlleon for Karoke :~)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Pavilion Hotel. The room was just fine. The price was unbelievably cheap. I would not have been surprised to spend more than twice as much (we did stay at the "Manager's Special Rate" during midweek). The breakfast and the wine/cheese were great touches. We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Having never stayed the night in Catalina we had no where to stay and based off previous reviews we took a chance. So glad with our choice!!! As soon as you leave the dock it is just a short walk down the street. This hotel has the best spot and is the only hotel directly in front of the water (every other hotel was one street down from the water). It was conveniently located in the middle of the shops and restaurants. The property is very beautiful and well kept. The courtyard has tons of plants, flowers and lounge chairs with a very tropical feel to it. The property is very open and simplistic overall. Our room was surprising just what we loved. Very updated with remote control air conditioning, flat screens, bath amenities, mini fridge and tons of coffee mate creamers (i loved that). It was decorated very cute and island like and the beds were so comfortable! We had a great night sleep. The staff overall was very friendly and helpful. Some were more than others and we appreciated that. The only mishap that we encountered was that while we were napping, some came into our room and then later came back and asked what my name was. When I called the desk, they said that they gave us the wrong keys and in the system it said we were in a different room. I wasn’t really given an explanation to why any of this was happening till I ask them. She then asked if I was ok and if I wanted wine. I work in a 4star hotel and totally understand things happen, but I felt a bit awkward when they asked “are you ok? Do you want wine?” Of course it helps, but next time presentation is key. Telling me that they were going to send me wine as an apology and for the inconvenience would have been better. Not giving me the option and presenting it as a bribe almost. Honestly, it was minor and again we totally understand. Other than that we had a romantic, quiet 2 day vacation. We will defiantly stay there when we visit and my friends have already book their trip at this hotel. Could not image staying anywhere else!!! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I loved the Pavilion hotel. It was my first trip to Catalina. Staff was excellent, loved my room and the amenities. Location was perfect. Their gardens were incredible. I'm going back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.