We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Took our 15 year old nephew for birtthday trip and had a tremendous time. We are talking about our plans to return. Very nice and comfortable without being over the top. Breakfast was tasty with lots of selection, nice to eat it on our patio outside our room. Loved the wine and cheese in the afternoon. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well groomed. Cozy and warm to visit with new friends by the fire pit. We did the zipline tour and had a blast. Do not recommend the ghost tour what a waste of our time on the island.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    135
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
147
257
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

If you're looking for a clean, relaxing hotel in a prime locaion, with attention to detail in it's customer service; the Pavillion is for you. It's not known as the lodge anymore for obvious reasons. It's recent remodeling has passers by stopping to gaze at the beautiful courtyard and the adorable, beautifully dressed patio. Both of which host the continental breakfast and the complimentary wine and cheese tasting daily. This hotel uses Starbucks products only and it's linens were very comfortable. I would receommend this hotel to couples and families alike. The only suggestion I would make is that they put us with children on the bottom floor as not to bother those traveling for romance and quiet. ;)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010 via mobile

They had all my favorite things. Starbucks coffee, continental breakfast, favorite candy, a place to keep luggage when yr boat was leaving later. We did the unlimited package well worth it. Every one was very friendly and the lounge area was excellent looking out to the ocean. Cant say enough good things. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Pros: Location, updated rooms and grounds, complimentary breakfast/nightly wine and cheese, friendly/helpful staff
Cons: None. Possibly price (depending on budget). Any small flaws were found only by knit picking (shower window was stuck closed, maid forgot to replace coffee one day, night staff told me I could use their desktop computer for checking email, etc/day staff said it was only available for the concierge.

Rooms: Updated, clean and white. Nice beds/comforters, wall mounted LC plasma TV with cable, small writing desk, clock radios with IPOD functionality, new wall sconces and floor lamp, small refrigerator that worked well (cold), small digital security safe, Starbucks coffee/coffee maker, DeservingThyme toiletries, Iron/Ironboard. (All appliances listed were brand new), simple updated bathroom.

Grounds: Open air entry (yet covered atop by sun screen panel) with plenty of comfy chairs, couches and tables. (Many people walking by looked at hotel and commented how nice it was/wished they were staying there/ asked for a tour of the hotel) large cozy fire pit, updated landscape plants and path lighting, courtyard surrounded by plenty of tables/umbrellas, and lounge chairs and umbrellas. Nice to sit in morning with coffee and watch the people pass by, ocean/beach goers. As well as in the late afternoon after a day of fun in town. Plenty of places to sit and relax and tables to eat/play games/ etc.

Location: Perfect location, STEPS from the beach, 40 feet from taxi drop off (to heliport), walking distance to shops/restaurants/ ferry landing, central location yet quiet. One of the first hotels as you enter town.

Atmosphere: Helpful attentive staff, upscale without pretension, hip LA couples and laid back OC beach families will both feel welcome. Kids are welcome. Cozy, yet clean and upscale without being overly trendy/snobby.

Food: GREAT daily breakfast spread 7-10 am, (Starbucks coffee, milk/juice (orange, apple, cranberry), fresh plain bagels/rye bread, small good quality muffins(blueberry, banana, etc), small cheese and apple strudels, croissants, Yoplait yogurts, cereal (corn flakes, canola, kids colorful cereal), fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, pineapple), cream cheese/butter, strawberry and apricot preserve. Silverware, nice plates and glassware, toasters.
Wine and Cheese at 5 pm. Nice Cabernet (Ravenswood) and a Riesling. Plates of 4-5 Cheeses (smoke gouda, gorgonzola, white cheddar, other cheese with some nice rye bread slices), lemonade.
Staff would walk around asking if you like more wine, pick up your empty plates/glasses.

Staff: Helpful and friendly. Manager was VERY attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Just returning from this hotel and we REALLY enjoyed it. It is in a terrific location --- about a block from the ferry/ship that brings you from the mainland, and in the middle of all the shops/restaurants/etc.
I have never been to Catalina before and this was just a great stay. There was a lot on the island that I wanted to see, and it was sometimes a struggle to leave the hotel because it was really relaxing and scenic in its own right. The grounds are beautiful, with so many lounge chairs and tables, whether you prefer to lay out in a grass and flowers garden area or up front with an ocean view. They have a nice complimentary continental breakfast, and a free wine and cheese half-hour in the evening.
Everyone who walked by the outdoor patio area was saying to their friend - "wow that looks nice, we should stay there next time!"
I thought the rooms were great. We had a 'deluxe king' which means it had a semi-private lanai and was on the 1st floor. The rooms are VERY new. The bed was super-comfy. The aesthetic is islandy and there were shutters and rattan-ish lamps to match. Basically the room looked really nice. There was definitely enough room for 2 people who didn't stay in the room watching tv the whole day. As for the 'semi-private lanai' as it was described on the website - I was confused as to what this meant and the concierge we spoke with a couple months ago didn't help too much - basically it is a large porch with 2-3 8-foot plants and 2-3 3-foot plants planted in front of 3/4 of the porch (with the walkway to your front door taking up the rest of the space). There is a table and two comfy chairs on the patio. My personal litmus test for privacy is, (sorry,) Can you sit out there nude? NO. People can definitely see you - it's not on the 'private' side of 'semi private', as people can clearly see you as the walk by along the path to their room. But it is definitely private enough to feel like you have your own patio set apart from the communal lawn-lounge area in the middle of the hotel.
Generally this was an awesome place to stay, and the only thing we were disappointed with was service, specifically from the cocktail waitress. She took about 20 minutes to bring one glass of wine, apparently because the bottle was chilling under 'heaps' of ice as she said. It wasn't remotely cold, and the manager rolled his eyes when we said we hadn't gotten our glass yet, so I assume she is still learning. But that was just a blip on the radar of a wonderful stay at the new Pavilion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We booked a package including tours and had no problem getting the tours we wanted even though you could not get the tickets until the day of the tour. All staff members were very helpful and friendly. The cheese and wine tasting was a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

The hotel and grounds were beautiful, service was impeccable,people great, location was perfect. I loved this hotel and breakfast and cheese time were well worth it. My only negative statement is that they get you to do the ultimate tour package and the tours are all booked and you definately can not get on the zip line promotion during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.