We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location, continental breakfast and wine and cheese hour add up to a great visit and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Catalina Escape Package
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent location, continental breakfast and wine and cheese hour add up to a great visit and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Staff was warm and welcoming. They helped us maximize a 32 hour visit so that we enjoyed every moment. Right down to the luggage stowage, and shower rooms. Great visit to Catalina. View of harbor was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. My staff and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Next time you are nearby, please come see us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    165
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
188
345
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Pavilion Hotel came highly recommended to us by a Catalina local. We were a family traveling with 3 small children and this location cannot be beat. We didn't have to walk very far for anything, EVERYTHING is near by. It was so convenient to be on the beach and be able to run back to our room if the kids needed anything or to use the restroom. The breakfast is absolutely fantastic, as is the wine and cheese in the afternoons. They will hold your luggage and/or deliver it to the boats for you complimentary, which helps with our busy brood. The rooms are small, but it really doesn't matter, because the rest of the hotel is so cozy, you can hang out by the fire or in the library and you really don't spend much time in your room unless to sleep. We found it very useful to know that there is a little hut on the beach right outside the hotel where you can rent beach towels, chairs and toys for the kids. And everyone is very friendly at the hotel. We wouldn't stay anywhere else and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for for staying with us at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We loved having you and your family as our guests. My team and I are happy to hear that we helped to make your stay memorable and that you enjoyed your time on the island. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pavilion; it definitely exceeded our expectations. Not only do they store your luggage before and after check in, but they have water, restrooms and change rooms/showers available to use for guests throughout the day. After our 3 hour hike in the hot sun, we were so grateful for this service! Our room was great. The bed and linens were comfortable and clean. The wine and cheese hour was everything we wanted it to be, and the breakfast offers a nice selection, including fresh made espresso drinks. The staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. We weren't sure if we would get a chance to use all the amenities, but we grabbed a few minutes in the sun out on the lounge chairs in the garden and enjoyed the fire pit in the evening, and were glad we did. We definitely intend to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate your feedback. We were happy to have you as our guest and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

When you return to Catalina please come stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

look no where else to stay. these guys are great!!!! Sercive/attention to detail/friendly/clean/ everything you expect and more! It was my first time on the island and Pavilion made the entire experience beyond expectation. Centalized in the middle of everything. Beach/restaurants/shops/tours/pier and more. I will be going back very soon and Planning to stay at Pavilion Hotel again.

Room Tip: floor level rooms easy access to garden and fire pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming to Catalina Island and choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel. My team and I were happy to welcome you to Avalon. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Please do come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My favorite Avalon hotel hands down. You don't go to Catalina Island to sit around in a hotel room all day and the Pavilion Hotel does a good job of encouraging you to get out and enjoy the islands. (But you'd be comfortable and happy if you choose to stay in one of the rooms.)

From the sliding glass doors and patios to the large outdoor area, they bring the inside outside. The courtyard area feels like a giant living room with tons of seating, tables, and even a fire pit. It also helps that the hotel is a hop, skip and a jump away from the water's edge.

They also have a nice lounge area indoors for those few times that it rains. This lounge has a computer with free internet access for those who can't stay away from technology on their vacation. They also hold their continental breakfast here, which features some really great pastries in addition to standards like cereal and juice.

Avalon is a tiny town to begin with, but this hotel is in a great location and super easy to get to for those arriving by boat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel. We were very happy to have you as our guest! We appreciate the feedback that you provided on TripAdvisor. Please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went from Long Beach on the Catamaran just over 1 hr journey time to Catalina Island,the Hotel was just a 5 min walk away around the Harbour it is right on the Beach perfect Location the rooms were chalet type but nicely furnished the breakfast Buffet although every thing was cold their was plenty of choice Wine &Cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch we went as Grandparents with 2 young children it was very child friendly especially with the beach right in front of the Hotel would certainly return. An abundance of eating places with prices to suit all

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor room which we found very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming over to see and stay with us at the Pavilion Hotel. My team and I loved having you as our guest. We were happy to see that you were enjoying our breakfast and wine and cheese hour. We hope to see you again soon on Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a pleasure to get off the ferry at Avalon on Catalina Island and 2 minutes later checking into this wonderfully located hotel. We are now located in the center of this waterfront town. The rooms are located back from the street along a very nice looking lawn area. All is very well maintained. There is a sittting area here.
The rooms are clean and adequate is size.
The hotel has a wonderful wine and cheese offering every afternoon. Good wines and a nice selection of cheeses.
The breakfast buffet is a very generous continental breakfast.
These are held at the front of the property facing the ocean.
The staff was terrific and very anxious to help and answer any questions.
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel

Room Tip: The lower floor avoids climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel on TripAdvisor. My team and I appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon on the island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 21 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#15 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Catalina Canyon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 21 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 21 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#17 of 21 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: Complimentary baggage service from the ferry, concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille, priority reservations at Island Spa Catalina, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.