We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Courtyard, Friendliest Staff--Best Hotel Experience In Years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Mesquite, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Courtyard, Friendliest Staff--Best Hotel Experience In Years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at the Pavilion Hotel for our first-ever trip to Santa Catalina island and this was the best decision we have made on a hotel selection in many years. From the moment we stepped up to the front desk to register until we sadly had to check out two nights later, our experience at the Pavilion Hotel was the absolute best we have had in many, many years of traveling in or outside the U.S. We found the hotel staff--especially Joy, Mariano and Roberto--to be openly friendly, helpful and always treated us like they were truly happy that we had selected their hotel for our stay. The grounds are beautifully maintained with such a terrific variety of plants and flowers that you might just think you're walking through a botanical garden. Our room? The staff (Joy) surprised us by giving us a complimentary upgrade to one of their beautiful suites for our two-night visit. We stayed in their Descanso Suite (rm. 202) and it was beautifully appointed with current technology and every comfort item and the bed was one of the best we have ever slept in in a hotel setting. We enjoyed a comfortable balcony that overlooked the grounds and had a very pleasant view of Avalon Harbor. Our room was spotlessly clean upon our arrival and then carefully and expertly maintained (including turn-down service in the evening) by a terrific housekeeping team. The afternoon/evening wine and cheese gathering was top-shelf all the way and, again, the staff were always fun and helpful. The continental breakfast fare was always fresh, delicious and attractively presented each morning. We also enjoyed and appreciated the complimentary luggage storage and transfers from the boat dock to/from the hotel as we never had to worry about the security of our luggage. I suppose you're getting the idea from this review that we enjoyed our stay at the Pavilion Hotel. Absolutely! Will the Pavilion Hotel be our first choice when we return to Catalina? Absolutely! A hearty thanks to the entire staff at the Pavilion Hotel for making our first visit to your island a truly memorable visit. You will see us, again!

Room Tip: Try to book one the two second floor suites. (We booked our reservation--did not request one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were happy to have you as our guests at the Pavilion Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting about your experience with us! Joy and Mariano will be very happy to hear that you mentioned them in your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back here very soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    143
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
161
289
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our family rented 3 lower level rooms 101, 103 and 109. 6 adults and 4 children. Wonderful time was had by all. Luis was especially courteous and cordial and would always greet and visit with us. He was very aware and helpful In lighting fire pit upon request. Wine and cheese was perfect and complimentary breakfast lovely. Our second stay at the Pavillion and we will definitely be back. Most convenient to Catalina express and best location on the island.

Room Tip: We prefer lower level closest to fire pit and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to welcome you back to the Pavilion Hotel again; thank you for coming to stay with us. Your comments on TripAdvisor are much appreciated and will be shared with my team. Luis will be happy to hear that you mentioned him in your review!

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you back on Catalina Island very soon!.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My family of 5, parents and sister and her family spent 4 fabulous nights in this beautiful, clean hotel. We loved the location and outside fire-pit. We shared many evenings around the fire and lounging in their comfortable chaise chairs. My children loved the beach access! The wine and cheese is so nice and welcoming as well as the breakfast every morning. My only complaint was check- in was not until after 3 and it was guaranteed that our rooms would be ready before 3. Also our rooms were not cleaned until very late in the day. Luis and Polly were very helpful employees and went out of their way to help with our stay. We will return to the Pavilion! Ground floor rooms with private patio are a must! Loved our room and the coffee pot with Starbucks coffee and extra creamers! Mimi-fridge is a nice extra also!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.CA.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We chose to visit Catalina during Thanksgiving break due to an expiring Groupon for the express. We decided to book this hotel for the location. Honestly, it would be hard to stay anywhere else after this experience. From the minute we arrived we were treated special. The room was very nice with a nautical theme that had shutters that opened up to a lovely lanai with comfy furniture. The grounds were well kept and very tropical. For happy our they serve wine & cheese (free!!) in the game room which overlooks the beach. Breakfast is also included with many yummy choices. Loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room w/ a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Pavilion Hotel during Thanksgiving break. We loved having you as our guests! My team will be very happy to hear that you mentioned them in your comments. We hope that we get to see you again soon on the island.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We just returned from the Pavilion Hotel in Avalon on Catalina Island. We rented one of their suites for four days. It was awesome! The room was large and spacious. A large porch were we had breakfast served every morning and afternoon cocktails. A nice siting area with a love seat and large chair. King size bed with lots of pillows. One and a half bathrooms, master bath has a soaking tub along with a separate shower. The other bathroom is a powder room in the main living area. We were provided robes during our stay. Fresh flowers in our room a bowl of apples. Mini fridge stocked with soda & water at no additional charge. Turn down service every night with bottles of water on the nightstand. From the front desk staff to the housekeeping they could not have done more to make our trip simply outstanding. Yes it was off season but the weather was perfect and the vibe was peaceful. We would have no trouble returning the same time every year.
They have wine and cheese everyday starting at four we never got the chance to go but it is on our list when we return. Again thank you to the entire staff at the Pavilion Hotel!

Room Tip: I would say rent one their suites on the second floor looking toward the ocean and court yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. My team and I were very happy to have you as our guests. We also appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor- Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience with us!

I am happy that my team provided you with an amazing experience. Eating breakfast and enjoying afternoon cocktails on our deck is the perfect way to enjoy the island. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is very close to the boat gates. It is very clean with gorgeous grounds and private patio areas outside your room. Our room was not the best location because it's the very first room located right next to the maid storage area so they were various people walking past our room the entire time. We like to keep our window open so we can enjoy the view and every time someone would walk by they would look right at us. I finally just had to close the curtain. The wine tasting and cheese was very nice as is the breakfast. Would definitely stay again but avoid 101.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As seniors, my wife and I were looking for a leisurely romantic getaway where we could relax and explore the island at our own pace. We chose the off season weekend just before Valentines day and we couldn't be more pleased with friendliness of the staff and beautiful garden grounds. The fire pit in the evening was perfect for meeting other hotel guests and just 'chilaxin' with an adult beverage. The hotel is perfectly located on embarcadero facing the Pier and beautiful Avalon harbor. I don't don't you'll find a better place to drink your morning coffee and eat breakfast than beneath the canvas sun covers facing the harbor.

The Pavillion Hotel is the perfect place to relax with a capital 'P'!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Catalina Island. We also appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable.

Please come back soon to do some more relaxing around the fire ring!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.