We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star treat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A 5 star treat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel, hands down is a 5 star treat at a 3 star price! The location, the service, the setting and the rooms are wonderful! Right across from the beach. Enjoy your breakfast or the evening their wine and cheese hour overlooking the beach or around their fire-pit!!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Joni,

Thank you so much for your rave review of the Pavilion Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience on TripAdvisor. My team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, services, and wine and cheese hour.

Please do come back and see us again on your next visit to Catalina Island. Again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    133
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
144
252
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pavilion for the first weekend of the 2013 Jazz Trax festival. The on-line research paid off. Hadn't been to Catalina in over 15 years and prices have about doubled since. That said the complimentary breakfast along with the wine and cheese happy hour was a nice touch. It was nice not to have to hustle to restaurants in the morning for breakfast. One note, bees can be a bit bothersome if you have breakfast outside on the patio. Also Luau Larry's next door can be a bit spirited (i.e. noisy) during late night hours. Choose a room on same side as the breakfast/wine tasting room or towards that back of the property and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Luau Larry's next door can be a bit spirited (i.e. noisy) during late night hours. Choose a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for staying us on your return to Avalon! It was so nice to have you stay with us after 15 years! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay on TripAdvisor as well.

My team and I are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfasts, and wine and cheese hours. Please come back and see us soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our New In Town Club f (Women) rom Simi Valley stayed at the Pavilion for the third Oct in 3 years. We keep coming back. We love it. The good service starts at the dock, where they tag our luggage and we don't see it again until we are in our rooms. That way we just walk down Crescent Ave and have our lunch, shop etc until they're ready. Wonderful Happy Hour 4:30 to 5:30, and great Continental Breakfast. There were 23 of us. "Ladies night out." We stay for two nights. They will take your luggage to the holding area at the pier for you when you leave as well.
Great linens, comfortable beds. Recommend you take the 4 1/2 hr hummer tour if you haven't.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued visits to the Pavilion Hotel! We love having you back each year and are looking forward to the next. My team and I appreciate your kind words. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed their great service.

Again, we are looking forward to seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent 2 nites at the Pavillon from Sept 15th thru the 17th. So 2 nites, 3 days. I say 3 days b/c even after we checked out the hotel held our luggage and let us use the courtyard with lounge chairs, bathrms, showers and go to Happy Hour before taking the ship back to Dana Point.!!
We had a downstairs room with a small patio and chairs and then the gorgeous courtyard, I def was on a tropical island. The beach is yards away across the walkway everything you need is literally within walking distance. The continental breakfast was fantastic with many selections, Happy Hour was excellent w/wine, cheese, bread and delish honey.!! Gas fire pits on at nite where you can sit, relax and be quiet or meet new people to chat up with. The rooms are good, but like another writer said the walls r thin and you can hear the other people, that is my only complaint and I had to really think about something that bothered me. At nite they bring you fresh bottled water and chocolate......seriously what more could you want in a hotel...!! They were there for our every whim and I thank them for this wonderful experience. Will definitely be back.!!! Oh I have a bad back and the mattresses were very comfortable.!!

Room Tip: The first floor rms are more money but have a nice private patio, and a really short walk like 10 fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate you staying with us and commenting on TripAdvisor. My team will be very happy to read your excellent review.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our fire rings, breakfast, and wine and cheese hour. We hope that when you return to Avalon that you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would give this hotel a 4 & 1/2 if that was possible. We stayed here on a recent trip because the family members we were vacationing with had been before, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is first-rate, and so are the amenities. There is a very good breakfast served, and a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon that add a great deal of value to the stay. They also have turn-down service where they leave you chocolates AND bottled waters. The outdoor common areas are outstanding; tables and chairs overlooking the dock and the main street (pedestrian only--great people-watching), a fire pit, and numerous chaise lounges. When we left, they were planting more landscaping to add to the already beautiful central area.
Our relatives (the same ones who wouldn't stay elsewhere) were unhappy with the room they were assigned, and the hotel wasn't able to change it for them. To keep the peace, we switched rooms with them. The hotel MORE than made it worth our while with some extras, over and above what we anticipated.
The only negative I would mention is that there were lots of yellow jackets harassing people at some of the tables outdoors when food was present. I don't know if this was a seasonal happening, but it was a nuisance. (Had to make sure I carried my epi-pen when we were in the vicinity!)

Room Tip: There are different price points for various locations. A room opening to the open courtyard would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in Jan 2013 and were not impressed. Our first room was right next to the janitor's closet and was very noisy with house keepers constantly coming and going. They moved us to a room on the bottom floor and it sounded like a heard of elephants above us. We didn't sleep well from the noise and concluded that the rooms just had paper thin walls. The hotel sent us a one night free voucher but when I asked if I could give it to someone else they did not respond. Bad customer service all round.

Room Tip: Only stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in January. While I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience, I would like to extend my apologies for your experience with us again. We pride ourselves on having fantastic customer service and are sorry that we fell short.
I hope that we have the chance to restore your confidence in the Pavilion Hotel on your next visit to Catalina.

Thank you,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very short walk from pier and quick check-in with clean room and comfortable king beds. Saw where others have found beds uncomfortable, but with my bad back, no problem. The "Continental" breakfast was so much more than that, with the freshest fruit (incl luscious mangoes), delicious bagels, ham, oatmeal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice, etc., etc. And the 4:30 PM wine/cheese hour also a nice perk after a day of seeing the island. Staff helpful, polite and friendly. Although more expensive than larger hotels in larger mainland cities, Avalon is a product of supply and demand. I can not imagine only visiting Catalina for one day. The 3 nights we were there were just barely a nice getaway. Will plan for more next year during jazz fest.

Room Tip: First floor rooms face large, quiet courtyard. Since Avalon closes down around 8 PM, I was amazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.