We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay on Catalina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Avalon
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on Catalina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would give this hotel a 4 & 1/2 if that was possible. We stayed here on a recent trip because the family members we were vacationing with had been before, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is first-rate, and so are the amenities. There is a very good breakfast served, and a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon that add a great deal of value to the stay. They also have turn-down service where they leave you chocolates AND bottled waters. The outdoor common areas are outstanding; tables and chairs overlooking the dock and the main street (pedestrian only--great people-watching), a fire pit, and numerous chaise lounges. When we left, they were planting more landscaping to add to the already beautiful central area.
Our relatives (the same ones who wouldn't stay elsewhere) were unhappy with the room they were assigned, and the hotel wasn't able to change it for them. To keep the peace, we switched rooms with them. The hotel MORE than made it worth our while with some extras, over and above what we anticipated.
The only negative I would mention is that there were lots of yellow jackets harassing people at some of the tables outdoors when food was present. I don't know if this was a seasonal happening, but it was a nuisance. (Had to make sure I carried my epi-pen when we were in the vicinity!)

Room Tip: There are different price points for various locations. A room opening to the open courtyard would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    123
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
235
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in Jan 2013 and were not impressed. Our first room was right next to the janitor's closet and was very noisy with house keepers constantly coming and going. They moved us to a room on the bottom floor and it sounded like a heard of elephants above us. We didn't sleep well from the noise and concluded that the rooms just had paper thin walls. The hotel sent us a one night free voucher but when I asked if I could give it to someone else they did not respond. Bad customer service all round.

Room Tip: Only stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us in January. While I appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience, I would like to extend my apologies for your experience with us again. We pride ourselves on having fantastic customer service and are sorry that we fell short.
I hope that we have the chance to restore your confidence in the Pavilion Hotel on your next visit to Catalina.

Thank you,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very short walk from pier and quick check-in with clean room and comfortable king beds. Saw where others have found beds uncomfortable, but with my bad back, no problem. The "Continental" breakfast was so much more than that, with the freshest fruit (incl luscious mangoes), delicious bagels, ham, oatmeal, pastries, coffee, tea, juice, etc., etc. And the 4:30 PM wine/cheese hour also a nice perk after a day of seeing the island. Staff helpful, polite and friendly. Although more expensive than larger hotels in larger mainland cities, Avalon is a product of supply and demand. I can not imagine only visiting Catalina for one day. The 3 nights we were there were just barely a nice getaway. Will plan for more next year during jazz fest.

Room Tip: First floor rooms face large, quiet courtyard. Since Avalon closes down around 8 PM, I was amazed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I will only stay here on Catalina. As soon as we stepped onto the island arriving from the Catalina Flyer,were two gentlemen holding a sign from the Pavilion Hotel to help us with luggage.
We were able to walk to the hotel without the stress of heavy luggage. When we checked in a little later in the day, they delivered our luggage to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. The gardens in the hotel were a peaceful retreat. The wine and cheese hour was a perfect getaway from the kids. The breakfast in the morning was a great selection even for picky kid eaters. Before we returned home The hotel even held our luggage until our return trip on the Catalina Flyer. Even after a visit to Descanso Beach Club that final day, the Hotel allowed us to use the bathroom area off the lobby to clean up since we had already checked out earlier that morning. I felt like Royalty, the staff was truly professional and amazing.

Room Tip: Upstairs Descanso Villa has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel on your recent trip to Avalon and for your rave review. My team and I were happy to help make your vacation memorable and glad that you had such a great time.

We appreciate your feedback on our gardens, rooms, and breakfast! We hope that next time you visit Catalina that you will come see us again.

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunland Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was awesome.. We came for a family holiday and truly enjoyed this hotel. We will be back. It's close to the ferry and right on the main street. Nothing is very far way. We enjoyed the Continental Breakfast in the morning and the Wine and Cheese in the evening.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, would suggest if you bring kids to try and get a room on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family vacation. We were happy to make your stay at the Pavilion Hotel memorable. My team will be very glad to hear that they made your stay easy and memorable.

We hope that next time you are visiting Catalina that you choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I started our honeymoon on Catalina island. We took a little private plane over to the island from long beach. We arrived at Pavilion hotel thinking we had our reservation made, come to find out that my reservation was accidentally made for the previous month. Violet - front desk quickly found a solution. By 2:30PM we had a room. :)
So far our honeymoon has been great and thanks to the complementary bottle of champagne in our room, a very comfortable bed, the wine & cheese social hour and great service at Pavilion, all we can say is... We will be back. Sooner then later!
Things we recommend while visiting the island
- rent a golf cart for 1 hour or 2. It's only $40 per hour
- rent a pedal boat - $15 hour
- visit descanso beach - fun day and night time scene
- we were here during a busy weekend and the jazztrax so we went to a jazz concert Saturday night then the after party on descanso beach where we dance next to the beach. Great time!
- have dinner at M Restaurant and Steve's seafood / steakhouse
- visit water grill for outdoor seating lunch
Besides that enjoy the island and friendly people. I hope this helps!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel. We feel honored that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us! Violet and the rest of my team will be very happy that you mentioned them. I will make sure that they know that they helped to make your vacation memorable.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. Congratulations and we hope that you come back again very soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We only stayed at the Pavilion for one night but just loved it. The location is very close to the ferry. We got on at Dana Point for the hour + ride. The walk was about 7 minutes. The hotel really seems like a resort. Even though there is no pool or golf course, the location is right in the middle of town so is near all the restaruants and shops. The grounds are just beautiful. The first floor(ground level)rooms are mostly with patios, surrounded by lovely gardens. The room was very comfortable.

Our breakfast was complimentary. I don't know if that's with all reservations. It was a continental breakfast but was excellent. They even made you espresso coffee or a latte. You can sit inside, overlooking the ocean(right there) or sit ourside with the same wonderful view. From about 5PM-7PM(not exactly sure of the times) you get complimentary wine and specialty cheeses and crackers. The wine is served in lovely wine glasses....no cheap stuff!! You can have as much wine as you want, so we took a couple glasses back to our room so we could have wine on our patio later on. The service was excellent. Thank you, Joy, for all your help!!

Room Tip: Try to get a patio on the ground floor. It's more money but really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Lodge
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA
Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.