We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Avalon
Sunland Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was awesome.. We came for a family holiday and truly enjoyed this hotel. We will be back. It's close to the ferry and right on the main street. Nothing is very far way. We enjoyed the Continental Breakfast in the morning and the Wine and Cheese in the evening.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, would suggest if you bring kids to try and get a room on the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent family vacation. We were happy to make your stay at the Pavilion Hotel memorable. My team will be very glad to hear that they made your stay easy and memorable.

We hope that next time you are visiting Catalina that you choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    136
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
154
258
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I started our honeymoon on Catalina island. We took a little private plane over to the island from long beach. We arrived at Pavilion hotel thinking we had our reservation made, come to find out that my reservation was accidentally made for the previous month. Violet - front desk quickly found a solution. By 2:30PM we had a room. :)
So far our honeymoon has been great and thanks to the complementary bottle of champagne in our room, a very comfortable bed, the wine & cheese social hour and great service at Pavilion, all we can say is... We will be back. Sooner then later!
Things we recommend while visiting the island
- rent a golf cart for 1 hour or 2. It's only $40 per hour
- rent a pedal boat - $15 hour
- visit descanso beach - fun day and night time scene
- we were here during a busy weekend and the jazztrax so we went to a jazz concert Saturday night then the after party on descanso beach where we dance next to the beach. Great time!
- have dinner at M Restaurant and Steve's seafood / steakhouse
- visit water grill for outdoor seating lunch
Besides that enjoy the island and friendly people. I hope this helps!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Pavilion Hotel. We feel honored that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us! Violet and the rest of my team will be very happy that you mentioned them. I will make sure that they know that they helped to make your vacation memorable.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us. Congratulations and we hope that you come back again very soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We only stayed at the Pavilion for one night but just loved it. The location is very close to the ferry. We got on at Dana Point for the hour + ride. The walk was about 7 minutes. The hotel really seems like a resort. Even though there is no pool or golf course, the location is right in the middle of town so is near all the restaruants and shops. The grounds are just beautiful. The first floor(ground level)rooms are mostly with patios, surrounded by lovely gardens. The room was very comfortable.

Our breakfast was complimentary. I don't know if that's with all reservations. It was a continental breakfast but was excellent. They even made you espresso coffee or a latte. You can sit inside, overlooking the ocean(right there) or sit ourside with the same wonderful view. From about 5PM-7PM(not exactly sure of the times) you get complimentary wine and specialty cheeses and crackers. The wine is served in lovely wine glasses....no cheap stuff!! You can have as much wine as you want, so we took a couple glasses back to our room so we could have wine on our patio later on. The service was excellent. Thank you, Joy, for all your help!!

Room Tip: Try to get a patio on the ground floor. It's more money but really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a cozy, comfortable and wonderful place to stay on Catalina Island. The staff is friendly, service is exceptional, and there is a wonderful breakfast bar in the morning with fabulous fresh fruit and delicious coffee. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Lower floors have private courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel while in Avalon and for posting about your time with us. My team will be very happy to hear that they helped to make your stay memorable. We also appreciate your feedback about our breakfast.

Again, thank you very much and we hope to see you on your next visit to Catalina.

Best,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I just arrived from Catalina. We stayed at the Pavilion Hotel and I have to say we had a wonderful experience. The location is perfect. The staff are friendly. It is a clean and cozy hotel. The continental breakfast and wine/cheese is a plus. Overall is a great hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments posted on TripAdvisor about the Pavilion Hotel; we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. My team will be happy to hear that they helped make your trip to Catalina memorable.

Again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Check in was easy and the room was very nice. Have stayed at th Pavilion several times and always enjoyed myself. Enjoyed the morning Continental breakfast, and we enjoyed the wime and cheese tastin at 4:30PM. Staff is very friendly and will help in any way they can.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quiet . We were in 209(South side). No A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed in the Pavilion this past weekend. We were greeted by Juan at the dock how promptly took our luggage to the hotel. We arrived early, but Joy graciously took my cell number as well as additional items that we did not want to carry and secured them until our room was ready. The wine and cheese was a welcome refreshment, as was the continental breakfast each morning. Violet was very helpful in directing me to scuba lessons. The staff was outstanding and the accommodations clean, comfortable and relaxing. I highly recommend the Pavilion for a get away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pavilion Hotel while in Avalon. We also appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. Juan, Joy, and Violet will be very happy to hear that you remembered their names and that they helped make your stay memorable. Thank you for mentioning them.

Again, thank you for choosing the Pavilion Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.