We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really lovely hotel with spacious, light rooms, comfortable beds and large dressing rooms. There's a free wine and cheese hour every day at 4.30 which is a nice touch, and the hotel is in the ideal location right on the waterfront in the middle of Avalon. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: there are rooms with private patios, but the shared outdoor area is nice and quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pavilion Hotel and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. We recognize our staff when they go out of their way to create exceptional experiences for our guests.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    142
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
158
283
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

When we first landed on the Island, we met Roger. He took our luggage from the boat dock & put it on a pull dolley & walked up the street to our Hotel...Thanks Roger. So far our experience at the Pavilion has been exceptionally nice. Really clean, roomy, with beautiful surroundings. The entire staff is awesome. The only thing I would say about our room is that it would have been nice to have a dresser and a little better lighting in the vanity area. WE WILL BE back to stay here at this Hotel. Super friendly, helpful, clean & beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pavilion Hotel and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. Thank you for recognizing Roger with his exemplary service. We recognize our staff when they go out of their way to create exceptional experiences for our guests.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We popped over for one night to go ziplining with our kids (19 & 21) and decided to stay at the Pavilion. We had a little wait at check in and check out so plan accordingly but it certainly did not spoil our short one night stay. We actually are booking 6 rooms for next year for our team.

The breakfast was waaaaay beyond continental (delicious!). We sat out by the firepit to eat, it was just lovely! We missed the cocktail hour that they provide...:o(

The rooms were clean, airy, lots of space and had all the comforts....fridge, full service coffee/tea bar, great TV and large bathroom.

The rooms do not have views of the water but the beautiful courtyard, cocktail hour in the evenings and breakfast patio all do! They book up way in advance but its worth the time to book ahead!! Winter rates were soo affordable and such a great value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Pavilion Hotel and for taking the time to share your memorable experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. We recognize our staff when they go out of their way to create exceptional experiences for our guests.

Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome your return.


Sincerely,

Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Pavilion Hotel on Catalina Island provided a wonderful experience! From making the reservation, to arrival, to departure! Kris at the front desk was excellent! Not only did he treat us - fellow Minnesotan's - very well - the people we met around the firepit also knew Kris, which means he helped create a welcome and personal experience. The rooms were neat and clean, they provided an excellent breakfast and wine tastings, the location couldn't be better - and the friendliness of everyone there makes us sure to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Pavilion Hotel during your visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate your time to share with us your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to share your feedback with my entire team and will recognize them for a job well done. Thank you for taking the time to personally acknowledge Kris in contributing to your wonderful experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Roberto Perico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you are looking for a boutique hotel with outstanding amenities and delightfully attentive staff, in a perfect idyllic location, then this is it! (not to mention the wine and cheese happy hour and the continental breakfast)

Room Tip: There really are no bad rooms, but nothing beats a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Pavilion Hotel! Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service, atmosphere and cuisine, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are so glad you liked our continental breakfast. We thank you again for your review! Hope to see you on the island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel has been entirely rebuilt from the old Pavilion Lodge. It is not the same hotel with a new coat of paint, they did an amazing job of upgrading and rebranding the hotel. The gardens are awesome, the rooms are small; I guess they are a really nicely outfitted and decorated room the size and layout of a typical motel room --- but they are really great. Our room had a nice private feeling front patio to relax on and enjoy your morning coffee, The central gardens are well done, with many places to lay out and get some sun, or to sit and enjoy a snack. The morning free breakfast is nothing to write home about; but there are so many very cool diners and cafes within steps that it really doesn't matter. It's a perfect "pre-breakfast snack" place with Starbuck's coffee. The friendliest and most helpful staff I've seen, the facilities are immaculately clean. Afternoon wine and cheese reception was a treat.

Big benefit was its steps away from the beach, and the Green Pier. We took advantage of the all inclusive package of tours and adventures. The kids loved the non stop mini golf, the submersible boat, rock climbing and bike rides. It was a rainy November weekend, so beach time was out, but the rain, and crisp air made for a effect that we had gone someplace far away from California and the hustle of Los Angeles. From the point that we disembarked the Catalina Express boat and were greeted by the hotel bellboy who took our luggage to the moment of our departure, it was a magical and fun weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room on the bottom floor with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Pavilion Hotel! Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service, atmosphere and cuisine, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are so glad you liked our rooms, grounds, and amenities. We thank you again for your review! Hope to see you on the island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent the Thanksgiving holidays at the Pavilion on Catalina Island. The rooms were fine; we had a double which was good sized. The landscaping was superb. Beautifully laid out with grouped seating amidst plants and flowers, well used by the guests. The hotel had an usually good breakfast, more than the typical "Continental" and tasty. Also, a good wine/cheese afternoon event, with decent wine. People of all ages from 2 to 90 mingled amiably. The managment is attentive and knowledgeable. It is centrally located in Avalon, near great restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Rooms with "linai" are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatalinaSCICo, Manager at Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Pavilion Hotel. Our staff strives to provide guests with the best service, atmosphere and cuisine, and your review will help us to achieve these goals. We appreciate any and all feedback. We are so glad you liked our grounds and gardens. We thank you again for your review! Hope to see you on the island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.