We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location..Easy Walking to Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pavilion Hotel to your Saves list
Pavilion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Carlsbad
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location..Easy Walking to Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel is one of the closest walks from the Catalina Express dock. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and nice.

Rooms could of been a little cleaner in the bathroom (found hair in the tub).

Complimentary wine and cheese from 4-4:40pm, and fun fire pit to sit and relax. We brought our own champagne and enjoyed it at the fire later in the evening and met other fun guests and chatted.

We booked the package deal for zip line, dinner, and boat and made a great weekend trip out of it.

Once we check out the next day, the great staff held our luggage while we explored the island the following day.

Room Tip: I say no need to really upgrade to the patio since they are not secluded and if you walk a couple s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    143
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
160
287
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Loved our stay here. Right on the main drag looking over the water/marina. The rooms were very clean, nicely decorated. The accommodations were the best I have had in Catalina. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Had a great stay here from start to finish. Got to the Island early in the morning, well before even most people check-out, and were able to use their showers and changing rooms to get ready for the day. Even able to grab a bite from the breakfast they had for guests. Our room was clean, and despite having a heating unit I had trouble controlling, it was perfect. The cheese and wine Half-Hour was always something to look forward to and was a gorgeous opportunity to sit and look at the amazing scenery a few yards from where you're enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. We checked out a few days later but used their bag-check and shower/changing rooms to stay fresh after a 7 mile hike and before going out to dinner.
This place is an amazing value and I recommend it to anyone who wants to do the most in Catalina, have a great place to stay and pay half what you would expect. The service was always pleasant, accommodating and just a pleasure to interact with. Thanks Dejuana!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Mistake #1. Changed rooms 3x because of resort errors. Ordered the romance pkg,but when we got to our room, no champagne and no chocolates. Jesus, working at the front desk gave us the wrong room. Ok, eventually, got to the right room. Mistake #2. Had to cancel our zip line, asked Jesus at the front desk to cancel it, and he said it was. I didnt feel comfortable with his response so we checked with co. and they said it was still reserved...good thing we checked! Paul, offered us our second night comped, ok, fair. Mistake #3 Romance pkg included free movie tix, went to the front desk to get our tix but they printed out miniture golf tix instead!!! Good thing we looked, they had you print out new tix. Note...Double check your info for this hotrl!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

What a lovely hotel, spotlessly clean and comfortale rooms, beautiful courtyard perfect for relaxing and eating breakfast looking out onto the boats and ocean. The staff were friendly and helpfull, the self serve continental breakfast was laiden with fresh berries,mangoes and pineapple, delicious baking, cereal yogurt, perserves and more could not find fault with anything during our stay.....THE place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a little private patio for two on the ground floor which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Francesc de Formentera, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place is very nice. It's a short walk from the ferry, has nice amenities like wine. & cheese in the late afternoon and a continental breakfast in the morning. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds very comfy. Situated right on the beach. the fire pit is a nice touch on a cool evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

For a friends weekend, 4 of us decided to head to Catalina island. We shared a room, located on the second floor, and found everything very comfortable. The location cannot be beat. Even more important, the staff was very helpful; they were personable and friendly. The breakfast in the morning has an assortment of fruit and pastries. The Happy Hour, which provided a choice between red or white wine, was a great opportunity to mingle with other guests. We spent the second evening around the fire pit with a few other couples and had a great time laughing well into the evening.

My ONLY caveat is the pillows in the bedroom were not great. I would recommend bringing your own pillow for the perfect night's sleep.

Thanks to all the staff for making a good hotel a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor if you're concerned about the noise from the fire pit in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Hotel

Address: 513 Crescent Ave., PO Box 737, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Avalon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary room amenities include: concierge service, continental breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese social, outdoor lounge with fire ring, movies, Blue Ray players & iPads for checkout, 37" flat screen TVs, HBO & Showtime movie channels, wireless Internet, iHome music centers, priority cabana/chaise reservations at Descanso Beach Club, priority table reservations at Avalon Grille & Catalina Country Club, Starbucks coffee and tea, and in-room safes, refrigerators, irons, ironing boards & hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Lodge Catalina
Pavilion Lodge Avalon
Catalina Island Lodge Pavilion
Pavilion Hotel Avalon
Pavilion Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pavilion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.