We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi and wine store and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CC Gallagher

CC Gallagher
523 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
+1 310-510-1278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Sushi, Healthy, Café, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
LAS CRUCES
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Sushi and wine store and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As we arrived on the island at lunch time and stored our luggage at the inn, we asked the person at the registration desk for a restaurant that would have sandwiches. This establishment was recommended. We ate inside, as it was too sunny where the outside tables were. It took awhile for someone to wait on us. We got two turkey sandwiches. They were nice. It also took awhile for the bill to come, and then another while for the credit card slip to come. The cost was $26.28. When we got to this establishment, there were two ladies eating, otherwise no one else inside. They have a lot of high tables, but did have one low table inside. They seem to make a lot of specialty coffees. They also sell a lot of unusual items. The restroom is way in the back, just find the wine bar and continue to the back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Lake, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Four of us came in for beer and snacks. After winding our way through a jumble of displays and people we found seats at the bar. We waited and watched as several servers passed us by and never even acknowledged us. We even called out to one and were ignored. In reality, they did us a favor. We walked down the street a bit and found a fun little island bar with great service and super snacks. Skip the pretentiousness and go someplace else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic, Quaint, Cozy, & Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our time at CC Gallagher's was one of the highlights of our trip. We ordered sushi, which was good, not great. But, the owner came to our table and we had a pleasant conversation with him about local history of the island. He's a very personable man and really made our late night dinner special. Our waiter was also another delight. In addition to the great service he provided we had fun hearing his stories of local legends about ghosts and other mysteries. CC Gallagher's is a restaurant, bar, sushi bar, wine bar, dessert bar, gift shop, coffee house, and they serve incredible gelato. Highly recommend a visit here. *Tip: in the gift shop they sell some very exotic perfumes and colognes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Inedible Food; Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came in hungry, ordered two sandwiches. I took a look at mine, smelled it and didn't want to eat it. Took a bite to be sure and shoved it from me. Waiters walked by and never asked if I needed perhaps something, anything. They weren't even curious why my sandwich was clearly not infront of me and definitely not in my mouth.
I finally called a guy and explained specifically what was wrong with this freak sandwich. The old cheese they clearly didn't have enough of drowned in vinegar, smothered in balsamic-drenched onions on one half and creepy figs on the other. Inedible. He took it, walked off and never came back. I had asked for the check. Then I had to walk up and get it. No appology or explanation. Husband's tuna melt tasted ok, but he got the runs 2 hours later.

The food all over the island is shockingly bad, but this is the only place I will review because they are dangerous and the service stinks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love going into CC Gallagher's, early in the morning they have pastries and mocha, later in the day there is a bar to do some wine tasting, later in the evening they have desert, for me this is an all day fun place to visit, lots of trinkets and wine and food, just being in the store is a fun experience. I am in here every day of our visit to the island

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CC Gallagher also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to CC Gallagher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CC Gallagher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.