We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but a nice treat for couples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orange, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but a nice treat for couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It costs $80 per couple for 2 lounge chairs, which is pretty expensive, but if it's a nice, sunny, crowded day, it's worth it. You can get on Descanso Beach for only $2 per person, but that beach area is small, and very crowded. If you get there early (before 11am) and have your own chairs, you can probably find a spot, but you won't get the great service for food and drinks that you will by paying for a private lounge chair. They have cabanas too, which accommodate groups and families, but they are $200+ for the day. If there's just 2 of you, the $80 lounge chairs are fine, but if you're a larger group or family (and money is no concern) then maybe you want to pony up for a cabana...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“VERY misleading! Stop and read before proceeding further!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, this restaurant is no longer called "The Cottage Restaurant" and according to a lady working there, hasn't been for at least 4 years. Secondly, the website link provided from this site is NOT accurate -- it shows their menu as offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant closes at 1:00 pm after serving (a very early) lunch, and does not serve dinner at all...and according to that same lady, hasn't in at least 4 years! I'd say no one is keeping up their website since the restaurant changed to what is now known as "The Pancake Cottage" according to their sign. And what lunch restaurant stops seating guests at 1:00pm?? 2:00pm or 3:00pm., maybe, but 1:00pm is still part of the luncheon hours for most people. Having used Trip Advisor to decide where we'd have lunch during our day trip to Catalina, we were very disappointed at the misleading and inaccurate info provided.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sittingonready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently took my scout troop to the island. We had Sunday breakfast at the Pancake Cottage. Not only was the food great, but our waitress was so kind and patient. She helped all the scouts order (on their own) and with many of them sharing a meal, she was very accommodating. Great customer service, and if I think of her name, I will add it at a later date.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate breakfast here, while there for our honeymoon. The waitress somehow could tell we were newlyweds, which was sweet. Nice place and the food was good

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MistyRim2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peach Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Peach pancakes are my favorite. The line is worth the wait. The belgian waffles are also very good. Ask for Terri for a great customer service experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FafieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing