We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, but a nice treat for couples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 46 restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, but a nice treat for couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It costs $80 per couple for 2 lounge chairs, which is pretty expensive, but if it's a nice, sunny, crowded day, it's worth it. You can get on Descanso Beach for only $2 per person, but that beach area is small, and very crowded. If you get there early (before 11am) and have your own chairs, you can probably find a spot, but you won't get the great service for food and drinks that you will by paying for a private lounge chair. They have cabanas too, which accommodate groups and families, but they are $200+ for the day. If there's just 2 of you, the $80 lounge chairs are fine, but if you're a larger group or family (and money is no concern) then maybe you want to pony up for a cabana...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    62
    25
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“VERY misleading! Stop and read before proceeding further!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, this restaurant is no longer called "The Cottage Restaurant" and according to a lady working there, hasn't been for at least 4 years. Secondly, the website link provided from this site is NOT accurate -- it shows their menu as offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant closes at 1:00 pm after serving (a very early) lunch, and does not serve dinner at all...and according to that same lady, hasn't in at least 4 years! I'd say no one is keeping up their website since the restaurant changed to what is now known as "The Pancake Cottage" according to their sign. And what lunch restaurant stops seating guests at 1:00pm?? 2:00pm or 3:00pm., maybe, but 1:00pm is still part of the luncheon hours for most people. Having used Trip Advisor to decide where we'd have lunch during our day trip to Catalina, we were very disappointed at the misleading and inaccurate info provided.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently took my scout troop to the island. We had Sunday breakfast at the Pancake Cottage. Not only was the food great, but our waitress was so kind and patient. She helped all the scouts order (on their own) and with many of them sharing a meal, she was very accommodating. Great customer service, and if I think of her name, I will add it at a later date.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate breakfast here, while there for our honeymoon. The waitress somehow could tell we were newlyweds, which was sweet. Nice place and the food was good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peach Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Peach pancakes are my favorite. The line is worth the wait. The belgian waffles are also very good. Ask for Terri for a great customer service experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.