We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY misleading! Stop and read before proceeding further!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 47 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“VERY misleading! Stop and read before proceeding further!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

First of all, this restaurant is no longer called "The Cottage Restaurant" and according to a lady working there, hasn't been for at least 4 years. Secondly, the website link provided from this site is NOT accurate -- it shows their menu as offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant closes at 1:00 pm after serving (a very early) lunch, and does not serve dinner at all...and according to that same lady, hasn't in at least 4 years! I'd say no one is keeping up their website since the restaurant changed to what is now known as "The Pancake Cottage" according to their sign. And what lunch restaurant stops seating guests at 1:00pm?? 2:00pm or 3:00pm., maybe, but 1:00pm is still part of the luncheon hours for most people. Having used Trip Advisor to decide where we'd have lunch during our day trip to Catalina, we were very disappointed at the misleading and inaccurate info provided.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    40
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently took my scout troop to the island. We had Sunday breakfast at the Pancake Cottage. Not only was the food great, but our waitress was so kind and patient. She helped all the scouts order (on their own) and with many of them sharing a meal, she was very accommodating. Great customer service, and if I think of her name, I will add it at a later date.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We ate breakfast here, while there for our honeymoon. The waitress somehow could tell we were newlyweds, which was sweet. Nice place and the food was good

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peach Pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Peach pancakes are my favorite. The line is worth the wait. The belgian waffles are also very good. Ask for Terri for a great customer service experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Expensive, But Worth the Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant is on the main thoroughfare as you exit from the ferry and is right across the street from the beach.

While this establishment is not big inside, it is quite light and airy and feels very comfy.

It should be noted that the prices here are not cheap, but the food is AMAZING! Fresh and perfectly cooked. Everything tastes homemade and it shows. It was worth every penny.

If you are planning a trip to Avalon, I would definitely recommend stopping in for a bite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.