We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pancake Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Pancake Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great food. They were very helpful assisting us with my wife's dietary restrictions. It's not always easy to find gluten-free items at a restaurant that specializes in pancakes and waffles. But they brought out a delicious vegetarian omelet that we split.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendliest place on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The breakfast options are great but I like to order off the menu. The chef will whip up oatmeal and fruit. A very healthy meal, but if you prefer, pancakes, waffles, and all manner of eggs are also available. The service is outstanding and the view is a dream.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food was not bad, typical breakfast food, a tad overpriced and service was lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We didn't have to wait long to get seated. that was nice. But once seated, it took about 10 minutes before anyone came over to our table. At least they already had coffee on the table so that was good because my girlfriend gets hangry if she doesn't get coffee right away.

It was nice that they had a pitcher of coffee on our table and a pitcher of water, but then they didn't do a great job of keeping it full. It only got refilled once. I basically rate the service on how many times they refill my coffee, or at least come over to ask.

We were a large group, 7, so I'm surprised they weren't coming over more quickly. When we did finally get service the lady was very nice. I think she may have actually been the owner. She moved a little slowly because she was older than God, but she had a sharp memory on her for sure.

We ordered, she got everything right, but it took a while for the food. Sure they were busy, but this seems to be a Catalina trend and maybe this is acceptable over there. In San Diego, it's usually much faster. When we got the food it was tasty, but nothing remarkable. Nothing that is going to live on in my memory, that's for sure. It was basically pretty good breakfast food at a high price, and so that hurts the review a bit. For the quality of the food, the price should have been a tad lower, but hey, that's Avalon for you I guess.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

That's how we like our fried eggs! The Pancake Cottage is an institution that can't be missed if you come over by boat. It is the first restaurant you see as you walk into town. While the restaurant may have changed locations, the food is still terrific. We always look forward to having our first meal at the Pancake cottage when we arrive in the morning. Always good, great variety and they put the coffee pot on your table so you never have to ask for a refill. Wonderful food...great service!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great breakfast menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had brunch at the pancake cottage last Sunday. We all enjoyed our meal! They have a great breakfast menu and the location is perfect.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.