We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 46 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate breakfast here and my omelet was the best meal I ate in our three days in Avalon! It was very tasty and perfectly cooked. The potatoes and toast were nice, too. My husband had pancakes and eggs, which were good. Our daughter had French toast, which was also good. Their meals were smaller, so they shared my larger meal. There was no jam at the table and it was busy, so I poured a little of the boysenberry syrup on my sourdough toast... TASTY!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California's Wine Coast Country, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bloody Marys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A local recommended this restaurant for breakfast and it did not disappoint! We sat at the bar, and the bar tender was wonderful. he made excellent Bloody Marys! I ordered the "kids breakfast" for adults, which included bacon, eggs, potatoes and toast. The housemaid salsa is to die for! I would have bought a jar if I could have. Breakfast was standard, but good and service was excellent. Great value too! Would go again for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ruben”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

BEST lunch in town, I had my favorite and they did it perfectly. Fresh pastrami that was actually juicy- the whole Ruben was just 100% how I'd want it if I made it myself and the owner- our waitress was so sweet! The bloody Mary's were equally on point. My new go-to place is the Pancake Cottage!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've stayed in Avalon many times, over the years, and I ALWAYS eat breakfast at the Pancake Cottage. I almost always have the chicken fried streak and eggs and it is DELISH! I like that they deliver a carafe of coffee to the table and let you refill you cup, whenever necessary. I was recently there on a cruise and the first thing I did was go for breakfast! Full and happy, I wandered around Avalon and reacquainted myself with the town. I look forward to going back, hopefully in the fall, and I'll eat there, as usual, YUM!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ate lunch here and it hit the spot! Huge menu and portion sizes, great food and prices. I had a club sandwich with fries and the husband had a burger, both were great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.