We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good stuff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Restaurant

The Cottage Restaurant
615 Crescent Avenue, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
(310) 510-0726
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 46 restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always good stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've stayed in Avalon many times, over the years, and I ALWAYS eat breakfast at the Pancake Cottage. I almost always have the chicken fried streak and eggs and it is DELISH! I like that they deliver a carafe of coffee to the table and let you refill you cup, whenever necessary. I was recently there on a cruise and the first thing I did was go for breakfast! Full and happy, I wandered around Avalon and reacquainted myself with the town. I look forward to going back, hopefully in the fall, and I'll eat there, as usual, YUM!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    62
    27
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We ate lunch here and it hit the spot! Huge menu and portion sizes, great food and prices. I had a club sandwich with fries and the husband had a burger, both were great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SO CAL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC BREAKFAST ON MAIN STREET!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This cheery high ceilinged restaurant was our find after arriving in Avalon from Dana Point on the Cataliner Flyer boat transfer.

Our breakfast included Buckwheat pancakes, and French Toast with bacon. Both were excellent and French toast thick and fluffy with big scoop of butter. Two kinds of syrup offered; maple and boysenberry. Buckwheat didn't taste that much different from regular pancakes but were a little bit denser, they were also delicious.

Bacon comes with 5 or 6 pieces of bacon so one order enough for two. Very good.

So good we went back for a second day. Once again French Toast delicious but also ordered oatmeal and banana/chocolate chip pancakes. Oatmeal plentiful and delicious but the pancakes arrived with wonderful chocolate chips sprinkled on top as well as melted inside the pancakes. Decadent! Oh don't forget it comes lathered with whipped cream.

I wish this restaurant was on the mainland! The menu offers omelettes, Eggs Benedict, etc. Very extensive with something for everyone. Very recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We went for a late breakfast at this place. Food was excellent as was the service. The pancakes and eggs are delicious. Prices were very reasonable and also quite fair. They were happy to provide us with substitutions - as there were some things that came in our plates that we did not want. The waitress was awesome - a local from Avalon. She gave us excellent service and provided us with useful information about the island and some of its history. I strongly recommend this place. Do go in early though because from our experience a lot of the restaurants close early - by 1 or 2 PM during the week. Not sure what the weekend hours are. Definitely go to this place and have a bite to eat. It is also on the beach,- right on the water front on Crescent Avenue. You can see the beach from the restaurant's windows. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast! Inspiring owner Muriel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had the Belgian waffle w/great strawberries & bananas. I rarely order this & would order again! Bacon was perfect. The owner Muriel was so amazing. The view perfect. Would definitely go there again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to The Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.