We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Visitors Bureau

Catalina Island Visitors Bureau
#1 Green Pier, PO Box 217, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-1520
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$249*
and up
Catalina Island Zipline Eco-Tour from Anaheim or...
Ranked #11 of 13 Attractions in Avalon
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers information on this popular tourist destination.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“very helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The information avaliable is excellent. The staff is always extreamely knowledgable and had great suggestions for any question.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington Flats, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“On the pier, we had some good discoveries here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Well worth the trip, we found out alot of information and also made our game plan (which we didn't have earlier.) Highly recommend the package deals, much cheaper than buying one excursion at a time.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Catalina Conservancy Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The group which owns 88% of the island is the Catalina Conservancy and they give a variety of tours into the interior of the Island. These are the only official tours with guides who know the history, the geology, the flora and fauna of the island and I would recommend that you take their tours rather than some others. We took the 3-hour jeep tour and had Andrew as our tour guide He is marvelous and kept a constant spiel going about the history, geology and nature and filled with little anecdotes and stories about previous inhabitants. He also lived on the island during the 2007 fire and has some harrowing stories about that. Our group of 4 really enjoyed his tour and would recommend the Conservancy especially.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very effective programs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The bureau has the merchants working on the same page. For example, on your birthday you get a ribbon that gives you a free boat ride to and from the mainland, free lunch at the Buffalo Nickel, free coffee and ice cream, free miniature golf, discounts everywhere. They also promote a bunch of other events and maintain an excellent webpage so you can find events.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield, CA.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Appreciated the Help!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We made this the first stop and received kind, helpful and welcoming attention. A quaint community with golf carts for rent to explore the area. Even with cruise ship passengers, Avalon was not cramped for shopping and walking around. It was a nice relaxing day, not hyped up with street vendors or overly touristy. It still has a layer back atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Visitors Bureau also viewed

 

Been to Catalina Island Visitors Bureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Visitors Bureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.