We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catalina Island Casino

Catalina Island Casino
1 Casino Way, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 attractions in Avalon
Type: Casinos
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Dancing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The iconic Catalina Casino epitomizes everything glamorous about Santa Catalina Island.On the lower level the building features extraordinary Art Deco murals and a classic 1929 pipe organ inside the Avalon Theatre, which still shows movies on its massive screen.The top level of this 12 story high architectural wonder features the beautiful, world-famous Casino Ballroom, a masterpiece of design and a long-standing venue for the world’s best musical performers and big bands. It is also a popular venue for weddings and special events. The only access to the building is through an exclusive Casino Tour offered through Discovery Tours. Once on the tour you’ll soon understand why many call this the most romantic place in Catalina.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Iconic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the most famous building here which also has a movie theater. Worth seeing up close and expect to see a lot of divers

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    53
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed :-/”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I was excited to view the casino and take the tour. I paid 32.50 for a behind the scenes tour.... SO disappointed. Joe the tour guide, although knowledgeable was terrible!! Horribly corny jokes, monotone voice and gave no time to explore to take pics. I lost interest in the first 5 minutes. The overall tour would have better if I could have gone at my own pace and not had to listen to Joes personal stories... sooooooooooooooo boring. It was not worth the $$ I paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Thank you to Emily, our tour guide! We went on this tour and were very pleased not only with the price but with the informative tour. The casino is an amazing island icon with so much history. I can't wait to return and actually go to the organ concert Emily told us about and watch a movie in the theater! Beautiful wood and art throughout!! Great tour!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A deco GEM!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took a 40 minute tour of this masterpiece of days gone by - it is a must if you are in Avalon. Worth spending the time with the guided tour to learn the history and hear some of the stories.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I highly recommend the Behind The Scenes Casino Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We took a Behind The Scenes Casino Tour which included the theatre and the ballroom. Our guide, Joe, was very knowledgeable about the history of the casino and the island. We learned a lot and were overwhelmed at the beauty of the place!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catalina Island Casino also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Catalina Island Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalina Island Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.