We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well known but not worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Joe's

Coyote Joe's
113 Catalina Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310 510-1176
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 48 Restaurants in Avalon
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well known but not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

cheap fast food, dirty tables, surly staff all at a very!!!!!
high price.
a veg tostada and a couple of tacos with rice and beans
for $30, really???

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billfish55, Manager at Coyote Joe's, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Let me start by thanking you for giving Coyote Joe's a try on your trip to Catalina. I'm sorry you were not happy with the service or the pricing of our food. We strive to give good service and the best Mexican food on the Island. I'm guessing you came in at peak lunch or dinner time. If you were at a dirty table I would have to assume that you walked in and sat yourself without direction. When we are busy we tell people they may take any seat but to plase not sit at a dirty table.
As far as the price goes I'm guessing that you got the bean and cheese tostada which cost $6.75, we don't have an actual veggi tostada. Our number 2 is the taco combo plate, which cost $12.50, so the total comes to $19.25, plus tax, so I'm a little confused by your math. Anyway I'd like to thank you for visiting our little slice of paradise and hope you return again, and possibly give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    26
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice spot to relax.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice waitresses! We had to be quick and eat to be on the boat on time. They had fast service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
2 reviews
“Great service and BOMB POSOLE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

They have a great atmosphere and amazing posole! They also have TACO TUESDAY!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The food was good for Mexican food we had enchiladas for dinner and rice & beans.You did not need reservations to get in like some of the other restaurants Thank Joni Law

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California
2 reviews
“Food Good..coffee awful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Had breakfast with my husband. Food not bad. My husband had some coffee and he said it was very bad. Serving size good though.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Joe's also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Coyote Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.