We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, easy access to freeway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Auburn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Auburn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Auburn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Grass Valley Hwy., Auburn, CA 95603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel, easy access to freeway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are very few decent hotels in this part of Northern California. What a pleasant surprise this one was! It is reasonably priced, clean and has great staff. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms well appointed. It is right off of I-80 and is close to downtown Auburn. Restaurants are nearby. All in all, a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
23
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

It was a last minute trip to Auburn. Called late that afternoon for evening arrival. Had a lovely room, quiet and easy access to where we needed to be the next day. Max's Restaurant is part of the hotel and we had a great dinner & breakfast there. Thank you for being so accommodating.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not notice specifics. The room was clean and the hotel was neat.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majicholiday1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
So nice to hear from our guests! I am so happy that you enjoyed our restaurant Max's. It's a local favorite here in Auburn. Now that you know we are here, we'll look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This hotel has nice remodeled rooms with new beds and linens...very clean. There is an attached restaurant, nice lobby and courtyard. Great value and pleasant stay. Easy access to HWY 80 and Auburn charm.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majicholiday1, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Thank you for takinig the time to write about your experience. We are proud of our "on Site" restaurant, Max's. A local favorite! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

Made a quick stop to get a few hours sleep. Overall nice room, Tyler at the desk was nice and friendly. Convenient location. Has amenities such as In N Out Burger next door. Price was a little high considering the late hour in which I checked in, and how long I was going to be there. A/C was on, set to 70 on a very cold night and took a while to heat the room.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

ice hotel with friendly staff. has only one restraunt and it closes early. However the food there was great. And a nice menu. Pool and hot tub looked nice although we did not get to enjoy them this trip. Rooms were spacious and nice flat screen TV's. Coffee was there, but only two non caffeine per room. Single brew pots. Nice location and many things to do within driving distance and many restaurants and bars to go to for late night food or drinks.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the pool as there was an air conditioner or other fan running most of the night...
See more room tips
Green Features: Yes, they did practice environmentally friendly linens.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majicholiday1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
We love to hear from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience at the Auburn Holiday Inn. We are centrally located to so many things to do in our area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014 via mobile

Staying one night. Very nice room with view of courtyard below. Convenient place to stay close to freeway with restaurant adjacent. Price is also reasonable for a Friday night stay close to Grass Valley for Cornish Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Stayed a couple of days with friends. Convenient to Old Town Auburn and Hwy 80. Has adjacent Max's Restaurant and In n Out next door. Rooms were standard, but beds and pillows were really comfy. Coffee pot in room, no breakfast included in price. Unfortunately, pool and spa were closed for outside maintenance. Downfall was every time someone turned on the shower, or walked in the room above, you could hear it, as well as freeway traffic, if your room, like mine, was up front of building. Also, in this time of water conservation, it took me fully 2 minutes of the shower running to get hot water. Not good. Would recommend a room away from the front, top floor, and not on the side where the delivery trucks pull in very early in the morning.

Room Tip: Top floor away from highway and delivery truck area
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel reuse program and toiletries are good . Local plants make an attractive entry
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Jan B,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback on your recent stay. It is nice to know our location and amenities were to your liking. On the other hand, we are very sorry for any inconvenience due to challenges with the noise and water temperature. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned that we have fallen short of your expectations. We will address these matters with the respective departments in order to avoid unnecessary issues in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and the opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Best Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn

Address: 120 Grass Valley Hwy., Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the wonder and enchantment of California’s Gold Country at the award-winning Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel in Auburn, California. Situated along the northern belt of Mother Lode, amid lush pastures and gentle rolling foothills, this Auburn, CA hotel offers a beguiling blend of unsurpassed beauty and unrivaled service. Since its opening in 1995, the Holiday Inn in Auburn, California, has been the recipient of esteemed honors, including the 1996 Holiday Inn Worldwide Hotel of the Year award. In 2009, the hotel received the Holiday Inn Excellence Award, and, most recently, was recognized as a California Certified Green Hotel. Impeccable service, courteous and skilled staff, and well-appointed interiors have made the hotel the showpiece of the Gold Country. "Everything You Always Wanted to Eat!", Max's is one of the Bay Area's most popular restaurants – famous for delicious food, generous portions, and irresistible desserts. You can choose from Max's large selection of deli style sandwiches and wide array of salads, steaks, pasta and seafood. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Room service and "take out" also available. Our Auburn conference location is close enough to Sacramento for easy access, yet far enough away to escape the corporate congestion and unwind for your gold country area conference or executive meeting. The latest technology in high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel, and we offer a business center complete with computer work station, printer, and photocopier. Our onsite meeting professional will assist with your every conference need and can schedule golf, skiing or site-seeing trips for your group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.