We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Key to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
merced, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistantly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Have stayed here about 8 to 10 times. Always stay a night to or from Reno. Property is always well maintaned. Exterior, rooms, lobby and breakfast area. . Greeted by same people for the last 3 years. Had some noisy neighbors one time and the lady at the desk had them quieted down within 5 minutes! Great restuarant (LaBontes) right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
87
65
23
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in February for a business trip and stayed one night. I came in April to for pleasure and checked out hotels again for my stay. I was considering staying at a cheaper hotel but decided to stick to what I know and I know I can count on a clean, comfortable stay at this hotel and Best Western in general. I really liked it that their pool was covered to keep it warmer for night swimming and that they had a hot tub, both which I used.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am so glad to read that our hotel has turned out to be the hotel of your choice when you are in the area. I am pleased to read that our covered heated pool meet your needs when you were swimming later in the evening and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin county, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

It is amazing that there is a hotel with a heated outdoor pool and spa when there is snow on the ground. Nice swim towels were available. The grounds were nicely landscaped for an area that has cold temperatures. We could see this from our room. My biggest complaint was that there not many choices of protein for breakfast. The rooms were nicely painted but the comforter may be due for replacement. We slept well and there were ample pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am so happy to read that you enjoyed our heated pool when you were staying with us last. We planned to remodel our pool and surface area, but due to the drought, have postponed the fiber-glassing of the inside of the pool and the resurfacing of the pool area until late October, early November, so that our guests can enjoy it during the Spring and Summer Months. W e look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The office staff was very friendly and helpful! The rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast was better than average continental style. The highway noise is significant but for the money, it's a good deal. We will stay there again when visiting family in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here for a few days at the end of March. The BWGK isn't some big swanky resort but more of a roadside type hotel. The thing I can say was for the money and the area this was a good place to stay. The room was very clean and pretty basic. Flat screen, Mini fridge, microwave, iron, etc. The bed was a little soft for my taste but i like a very firm bed, but it was fine. There was a little road noise due to being close to the freeway but not real bad. The bathroom was really clean and plenty of room but pretty plain. I didn't get to see the pool. The breakfast was a basic continental type with waffles, cereal, fruit, sweet rolls, oatmeal packs, hard boiled eggs, coffee, and juice. In the lobby there was a computer that I used to print out my boarding pass. Also complimentary wifi that seemed to work ok. Again the BWGK got the job done for what I needed and the staff was friendly. I'll definitely stay here again when I get back to that area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We have family in the area and have stayed in this hotel for the last 10 years whenever we come to visit. This place never disappoints! Location next to a grocery store, fast food, casual dining and Ikeda's makes it even more appealing. The front desk is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I love all the flowers planted around the property. The one downside is their hot breakfast is very limited. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed our gardens. Our gardener Kate does a fantastic job and our guests are always asking for the names of the plants she uses,so we have small identification tags on them now. We hope to see you again when you are in town visiting your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very nice front desk staff both in the evening and morning. Very helpful in advising some local sights with what were were looking to see and experience. Nice to see a Mac for guest to use. We did not get a chance to use the pool facilities as we got in late from a long trip accross Nev.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am very happy to read that my staff was able to help you with the local site information and that you liked our guest lobby computer when you stayed with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include a year round heated swimming pool and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques, a putting green and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.